Guides: Course Guide ~ HIST 238 / War & Society in American History: Newspapers

Newspapers at Hamilton

The vast majority of the library's historical newspaper collections were published in the United States before 1923 and after 1980. The few notable exceptions include our African American newspaper collections and the New York Times.

United States

COLLECTIONS

America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
More than 1,800 newspapers from all 50 states. The colonial and early national newspapers collected by the American Antiquarian Society form the core of this collection. Coverage: 1690-1922.
Library owns Early American Newspapers, Series I-7, 10 and 13.
African American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Complete contents and original layout of more than more than 270 newspapers from 35 states. Coverage: Series 1 & 2; 1827-1998.
Historical Black Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Complete contents and original layout of five important African American newspapers.
Includes:
Baltimore Afro-American, 1893-1988
Chicago Defender, 1910-1975
Los Angeles Sentinel, 1934-2005
New York Amsterdam News, 1922-1993
Pittsburgh Courier, 1911-2002
NewspaperARCHIVE.com This link opens in a new window
Full image reproductions of North American and European newspapers, some dating back to the 18th century. Coverage varies significantly by title.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
More than 11,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Search FAQ
How to Find a Legal Case
Video: Searching from the Home Page
Video: Source Selection & Creating Permalinks
Video: Creating Alerts

INDIVIDUAL TITLES

New York Times

1980 to present - Full article text. No images.
1851 to 2013 - Full text and image.
2008 to present - Full text and image. 3 month delay.