Guides: Subject Guide ~ Middle East and Islamic World Studies: Background Information

Subject Specialist

Kristin Strohmeyer
Research & Outreach Librarian
kstrohme@hamilton.edu
315-859-4481

Bibliographies and Indexes

Oxford Bibliographies Online: African Studies by Thomas Spear
ISBN: 9780199846733

Dictionaries

Oxford dictionary of Islam by John L. Esposito
Publication Date: 2003

WordReference
Online dictionaries for many languages including Arabic, Chinese, Czech, French, German, Greek , Italian, Japanese, Korean, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Spanish, and Turkish. Also has an app for mobile devices.
more...less...
Highly recommended for students studying abroad.

Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Encyclopaedia Iranica
A comprehensive research tool dedicated to the study of Iranian civilization in the Middle East, the Caucasus, Central Asia, and the Indian subcontinent.

Encyclopaedia of Islam This link opens in a new window
An essential reference work for the study of the world of Islam. Includes the 2nd and the 3rd edition, which is a work in progress. Includes all maps from the Historical Atlas of Islam.

Encyclopedia of the Qur'an by Jane Dammen McAuliffe (Editor)
Call Number: REF BP 133 .E53 2001
ISBN: 9004114653
Publication Date: 2002
volumes 1-5, plus index, available.
Encyclopedia of the Arab-Israeli Conflict by Spencer C. Tucker (Editor); Priscilla Mary Roberts (Editor)
ISBN: 9781851098422
Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa
Call Number: REF DS 43 .E53 2004
ISBN: 0028657691
Publication Date: 2004
The Government and Politics of the Middle East and North Africa by David E. Long (Editor); Bernard Reich (Editor); Mark Gasiorowski (Editor)
Call Number: REF DS 62.8 .G68 2011
ISBN: 9780813344492
Publication Date: 2010
Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures by Suad Joseph (Editor); Afsaneh Najmabadi (Editor); Julie Peteet (Editor); Seteney Shami (Editor); Jacqueline Siapno (Editor); Jane I. Smith (Editor)
Call Number: REF HQ 1170 .E53 2003
ISBN: 9004132473
Publication Date: 2007
v. 1. Methodologies, paradigms, and sources
v. 2. Family, law, and politics
v. 3. Family, body, sexuality and health
v. 4. Economics, education, mobility and space
v. 5. Practices, interpretations and representations
v. 6. Supplement & index.
Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture by Jonathan Bloom; Sheila Blair
ISBN: 9780195373042
Publication Date: 2009
Deals with all aspects of Islamic art and architecture ranging from the Middle East to Africa to Central, South, and East Asia and includes entries on artists, rulers, writers, ceramics, sculpture, metalwork, painting, calligraphy, textiles, and more
New Encyclopedia of Islam by Cyril Glasse
Call Number: Compact Stacks REF BP 40 .G42 2013
ISBN: 1442223480
Publication Date: 2013

Images and Multimedia

Artstor This link opens in a new window
Note: Registration required to download images.
An image library for the arts and sciences. A rich collection of more than one million high-resolution images and tools for teaching and research. Subjects include architecture, painting, photography, sculpture, decorative arts and design, as well as archeological and anthropological objects. Coverage: prehistory to present.
Help: Getting Started with Artstor
More Info: Help with Artstor

Maps and Atlases

AtoZ Maps Online This link opens in a new window
Collection of more than 146,000 proprietary and royalty-free maps. All maps are high resolution starting at 300dpi with some as large as poster-size. Many maps are PowerPoint-ready. Updated monthly.

Atlas of Islam, 1800-2000 by Andreas Birken
Call Number: REF G 1786.S1 B5 2010
ISBN: 9789004184497
Publication Date: 2010
An Atlas of Middle Eastern Affairs by Liam D. Anderson; Ian Cool (Illustrator); Ewan W. Anderson
Call Number: REF DS 63.1 .A535 2010
ISBN: 9780415455145
Publication Date: 2009
Historical Atlas of Islam by Malise Ruthven; Azim Nanji (As told to); Abdou Filali-Ansary (As told to)
Call Number: REF G 1786.S1 R9 2004
ISBN: 0674013859
Publication Date: 2004
The State of the Middle East by Dan Smith
Call Number: REF G 2205 .S6 2008
ISBN: 9780520257535
Publication Date: 2008