Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HOMEGUIDESDATABASESHELP

North By Southwest: Home

Home

 

North by Southwest Makerspace: Book Culture from Print to Digital

An Interdisciplinary Collaborative Project in the Humanities and Beyond

Workshops

Bookbinding Workshop

November 4, 2021, 10-12 p.m., Stryker All Night Reading Room, Burke Library.

Bookbinder Fred Jordan will demonstrate the process of traditional bookbinding. Participants will create a stab-stitched pamphlet bound in marbled wrappers with gilt stamped decoration. Limited to 10 registrants.

Registration limited to 10 people. 

Events

Couper Phi Beta Kappa Lecture Series

March 30, 2022

4:15 p.m.

Stephen Bornstein

Mr. Bornstein will discuss his life and experiences with Kerista, the Beats, and specifically Allen Ginsberg and his East Hill Farm in Cherry Valley, NY.

This annual lecture honors Hamilton alumnus and trustee Richard “Dick” Couper ’44 for his commitment and contributions to Hamilton College and the Phi Beta Kappa Society, the oldest academic honorary society in America.

Events

Makerspaces and the 1st year Adventure Trip: Games and the Human Equation.

TBD, Spring 2022

Open panel presentation/discussion.

Workshops

Letterpress Solstice Card Workshop

Friday, December 3, 2021, 1-4pm
Basement, Dunham Residence Hall

Join Seth Gottlieb, LITS Education & Outreach Librarian for Special Collections, as we hand print cards in the letterpress studio! Part of the Interdisciplinary Collaborations Project, North by Southwest Makerspace: Book Culture From Print to Digital events sponsored by the Humanities Center.

Please wear closed-toed shoes, tie your hair back if it is long, and wear clothes you don't might getting a bit dirty. We look forward to printing with you!

Please register in advance. 

Workshops

Workshop with LITS Digital Media Tutors, Research Tutors, and Data Science Tutors

TBD, Spring 2022

Peer-to-peer student workshop

Events

LIT 250 “Intro to the History of the Book” Exhibit 

TBD, December 2021

Learn about book history by viewing items from LITS Special Collections. Explanation and overview provided by students in History/Literature 250.

Prof. Margie Thickstun, Jane Watson Irwin Professor of Literature and Christian Goodwillie, Director and Curator of Special Collections and Archives

Events

Special Collections Open House

January 13, 2022 

2 p.m.

Special Collections Open House with Jeremy Katz, Archivist, LITS

Events

Research and Instructional Design Team “Tech on Tap"

TBD, Spring 2022

Burke Library All Night Reading Room

Open to the Hamilton community.

Organizers

Christian Goodwillie, Director and Curator of Special Collections and Archives, LITS, cgoodwil@hamilton.edu

Tina May Hall, Christian A Johnson Excellence in Teaching Professor of Literature and Creative Writing, thall@hamilton.edu

Nhora Lucía Serrano, Associate Director for Digital Learning and Research, LITS, nserrano@hamilton.edu

Kristin L. Strohmeyer, Research and Community Engagement Librarian, LITS, kstrohme@hamilton.edu

Margaret Thickstun, Jane Watson Irwin Professor of Literature and Chair, Literature and Creative Writing, mthickst@hamilton.edu

 

North by Southwest Makerspace: Book Culture from Print to Digital is an interdisciplinary collaboration made possible by the Humanities Center and Library and Information Technology Services.

Hamilton College, 198 College Hill Road, Clinton, NY 13323 • 315-859-4735 • Copyright © 2017 The Trustees of Hamilton College. All rights reserved.