Guides: Course Guide ~ PSYCH 101 / Intro to Psychology: Research Databases

Scientific Communication

PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
American Psychological Association’s index of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in behavioral science and mental health. Coverage: 1887-present (journals); 1987-present (books and book chapters).
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Index of articles from over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. In addition to multidisciplinary searches, Web of Science provides tools to track citations to individual articles from their date of publication to the present. Now includes Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Coverage: 1900-present.
Web of Science Intro
Videos

Google Scholar
Search for articles in scholarly journals, and link to Hamilton's subscriptions and resources, including full text articles.
PsyArXiv Preprints
PsyArXiv (psychology archive) is designed to facilitate rapid dissemination of psychological research. PsyArXiv is a creation of the Society for the Improvement of Psychological Science (SIPS) and the Center for Open Science (COS).

Combine Search Terms with Boolean Operators: AND, OR, NOT

ScienceDaily.com
Latest research news, links to scholarly articles.
Hamilton Library Catalog
The library catalog is a one-stop search tool for books, articles, videos, digital media, and more.

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Full text reports to differing points of view on current social issues.
Provided by NOVELny.
Provided by the New York State Library, NOVELNY is a Statewide Internet Library connecting New Yorkers to 21st century information. NOVELNY is supported with temporary federal Library Services and Technology Act funds from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS).

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association
Call Number: Burke Research Desk BF76.7 .P83 2020
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the social sciences. See the APA Reference Examples page and the APA Style Blog for examples and explanations.

Have a plan when conducting research:

Ask questions.

Think of questions about your topic, and search in databases.
After reading articles, think about what interests you. Ask new questions, and look for more information.

Find the starting point:

Library Catalog - Searches books, articles, audio and video files, images, government documents, and more. All Searches
Academic Search Premier - Indexes journals across disciplines. General Searches
Subject Guides - See We Suggest sections for discipline-specific databases. Advanced Searches
How Do I Find... - News sources, images, statistics, primary sources, and more. Targeted Searches

Keep searches simple.

Refine your search.

Repeat your search after reading some of the information gathered in the previous step
Mine the bibliographies of articles on your topic for additional sources

Get help.

For your debate topic or for your final presentations, individualized appointments are available.

Please bring articles you have located to the appointment.