Guides: Resources for VVS AP Biology students: Research Databases

General & News Sources

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

Glynis Asu, Research Librarian for Mathematics & the Sciences
gasu@hamilton.edu
315-859-4482
Book a research appointment

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Full text reports to differing points of view on current social issues.
Provided by NOVELny.
Provided by the New York State Library, NOVELNY is a Statewide Internet Library connecting New Yorkers to 21st century information. NOVELNY is supported with temporary federal Library Services and Technology Act funds from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS).

GreenFile This link opens in a new window
Index of scholarly journals, government publications and general interest magazines on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and other aspects of human impact to the environment. Coverage: 1974-present.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Index of articles from over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. In addition to multidisciplinary searches, Web of Science provides tools to track citations to individual articles from their date of publication to the present. Now includes Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Coverage: 1900-present.
Web of Science Intro
Videos
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full text of Elsevier Science articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books covering the scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature published in 24 fields of science. Coverage varies by title.

In order to evaluate sources, try the ACCORD method.

Briefly, ACCORD means:

For more detail, take a look at this guide on evaluating resources