Guides: How Do I Find ~ Images and Multimedia: Still Images

Images from Online Sources

Associated Press Images Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to over 12 million current and historical news photographs, and 36,000 audio sound bites. Also includes 340,000 graphics images, including maps, graphs, charts, logos, flags and more. Coverage: 1826-present.
Note: Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Artstor on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Note: A personal account on JSTOR is required to download images. If you had an Artstor account, you already have a JSTOR account.
An image library for the arts and sciences. A rich collection of more than one million high-resolution images and tools for teaching and research. Subjects include architecture, painting, photography, sculpture, decorative arts and design, as well as archeological and anthropological objects. Coverage: prehistory to present.
Help: Artstor on JSTOR: Working with Images

Creative Commons Search
Creative Commons is a nonprofit organization that enables the sharing and use of creativity and knowledge through free legal tools. The search page provides a portal to image and media sites with content that is licensed for public use.
EBSCOhost Image Collection
More than a million photographs, graphs, charts, maps, and illustrations with an emphasis on world news and events. To search images, (1) login to Academic Search Premier and choose (2) More > Images from the blue banner atop the page.
Pixabay
A site that provides free, public domain images that do not require attribution. It also offers Shutterstock images which aren't free, but which are clearly designated. The search feature supports Boolean connectors and the ability to search by predominant color of the image.
Google Image Search
Use Tools to Limit to Usage Rights: Creative Commons licenses
Find More: Copyright & Media Types: Images

Books are also a good source for high resolution images. Try adding some of the phrases listed below to searches in the library catalog.