This tutorial explains how to take a broad topic and narrow it down to something manageable for your research. It explains how to do this with a concept map, research pyramid, and brainstorm cloud.
Approximate Time: 6 - 8 minutes
Leads: Glynis Asu (Hamilton College), JesiBuell & Debbie Krahmer (Colgate University), Lindsay Bush (Union College), Paul Doty (St. Lawrence University), and Johanna MacKay & Barbara Norelli (Skidmore College).
New! Sustainability collection added.more info
Full text of leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences dating back as far as 1665. Hamilton provides access to 17 JSTOR collections with more than 2,300 titles. Journal runs are complete from volume one up to the most recently published issues (past 5 years), which must be accessed elsewhere.
Arts & Sciences collections I-XV
Life Sciences collection
Available Now! - Nexis Uni ... a new interface with new features -- alerts, shared folders, saved searches, annotated documents and more. Note: Hamilton's access to LexisNexis Academic is expected to end mid-August 2018.
Full text of over 15,000 news, business, and law sources -- includes newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, periodicals, law reviews and court decisions. Articles for most newspapers date back to the early 1990s.
New: Historical backfiles added. Coverage is now 1900-present.
Index of articles from over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. In addition to multidisciplinary searches, Web of Science provides tools to track citations to individual articles from their date of publication to the present. Now includes Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Coverage: 1900-present.