The complete archive of National Geographic magazine — every page of every issue — along with a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images and videos. Coverage: 1888 to present.
Over 600 images can be downloaded for educational use.
New! Sustainability collection added.more info
Full text of leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences dating back as far as 1665. Hamilton provides access to 17 JSTOR collections with more than 2,300 titles. Journal runs are complete from volume one up to the most recently published issues (past 5 years), which must be accessed elsewhere.
Arts & Sciences collections I-XV
Life Sciences collection
New: Historical backfiles added. Coverage is now 1900-present.
Index of articles from over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. In addition to multidisciplinary searches, Web of Science provides tools to track citations to individual articles from their date of publication to the present. Now includes Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Coverage: 1900-present.
Includes AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Coverage: 1960-present.
Index of journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses covering the geology of North America from 1785 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. Includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Coverage: 1785-present.
Full text of Elsevier Science articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books covering the scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature published in 24 fields of science. Coverage varies by title.
In order to evaluate sources, try the ACCORD method.
Briefly, ACCORD means:
A - Agenda - What was the author's purpose?
C - Credentials - Is the author creditable?
C - Citations - Does the author cite the work of others?
O - Oversight - Did someone have to approve the publication?
Style guides featuring a large number of example citations for books and journals along with many not-so-frequently encountered source types used in the social sciences. From the SUNY Albany Libraries.