Guides: Subject Guide ~ Theatre: Design Resources

Background Information

The Art of Theatrical Design by Kaoime Malloy
ISBN: 9781138021501
Publication Date: 2014-10-03
Drafting for the Theatre by Dennis Dorn; Mark Shanda
ISBN: 0809387735
Publication Date: 2012-02-01
pt. 1. Tools, standards, and basic techniques -- pt. 2. Orthographic projection -- pt. 3. Specialized techniques -- pt. 4. Computer drafting -- pt. 5. Design and shop drawings overview -- pt. 6. The portfolio project.
Drawing and Rendering for Theatre by Clare P. Rowe; Peter Beudert (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9780240805542
Publication Date: 2007-06-28
Illustrated Theatre Production Guide by John Ramsey Holloway
Call Number: PN2085 .H64 2014
ISBN: 9780415717526
Publication Date: 2014-06-19
The Magic Garment by Rebecca Cunningham
Call Number: Burke TT507 .C92 1994
ISBN: 9780881337624
Publication Date: 1994-01-01
A Practical Guide to Stage Lighting by Steven Louis Shelley
ISBN: 9780415812009
Publication Date: 2013-10-25
The Prop Building Guidebook by Eric Hart
Call Number: PN2091.S8 H255 2013
ISBN: 9780240821382
Publication Date: 2013-03-08
Scenic Art for the Theatre by Susan Crabtree; Peter Beudert
ISBN: 1136084290
Publication Date: 2012-11-12
Stage Rigging Handbook by Jay O. Glerum
ISBN: 9780809387649
Publication Date: 2007-04-01

Journals

Browsing through print and electronic journals and magazines can serve as an integral tool in the design research process, providing both valuable details and unexpected discoveries.

Select list of print magazines in Burke Library
Current issues are located on the first floor, older issues are in the basement.

Apollo
Aperture
American Theatre
Art in America
Art News
Art Forum
Dance
Illustrated London News (1842-1900 on microfilm)
National Geographic
Time

Online Magazine Collections

American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window
Digitized images of 7500 American magazines held by the American Antiquarian Society (AAS), the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction. Coverage: 1691-1877.
Life Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
The famed photojournalism magazine featured story-telling through documentary photographs and informative captions. Coverage: 1936-2000.
Time Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
The prominent weekly news magazine and an important resource for studying just about any aspect of 20th-century history and life. Coverage: 1923-2000.
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
The full contents of Vogue magazine (U.S. edition) in full color page image. Coverage: 1892-present.
Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Full backfiles of leading women’s interest consumer magazines. Titles are scanned from cover to cover in high-resolution color and feature detailed article-level indexing. Coverage: 1846-2005.
Better Homes & Gardens, 1922-2005
Chatelaine, 1928-2005
Cosmopolitan, 1886-2005
Essence, 1970-2005
Good Housekeeping, 1885-2005
Ladies’ Home Journal, 1883-2005
Parents, 1926-2005
Redbook, 1903-2005
Seventeen, 1944-2005
Town and Country, 1846-2005
Woman’s Day, 1937-2005
Women’s International Network News, 1975-2003

Images from Online Sources

Associated Press Images Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to over 12 million current and historical news photographs, and 36,000 audio sound bites. Also includes 340,000 graphics images, including maps, graphs, charts, logos, flags and more. Coverage: 1826-present.
Note: Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Artstor on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Note: A personal account on JSTOR is required to download images. If you had an Artstor account, you already have a JSTOR account.
An image library for the arts and sciences. A rich collection of more than one million high-resolution images and tools for teaching and research. Subjects include architecture, painting, photography, sculpture, decorative arts and design, as well as archeological and anthropological objects. Coverage: prehistory to present.
Help: Artstor on JSTOR: Working with Images

Creative Commons Search
Creative Commons is a nonprofit organization that enables the sharing and use of creativity and knowledge through free legal tools. The search page provides a portal to image and media sites with content that is licensed for public use.
EBSCOhost Image Collection
More than a million photographs, graphs, charts, maps, and illustrations with an emphasis on world news and events. To search images, (1) login to Academic Search Premier and choose (2) More > Images from the blue banner atop the page.
Pixabay
A site that provides free, public domain images that do not require attribution. It also offers Shutterstock images which aren't free, but which are clearly designated. The search feature supports Boolean connectors and the ability to search by predominant color of the image.
Google Image Search
Use Tools to Limit to Usage Rights: Creative Commons licenses
Find More: Copyright & Media Types: Images