Guides: How Do I Find ~ Books: eBooks

Books at Hamilton

All of our e-books are included in the library catalog. To limit your search to electronic books:

America's Historical Imprints
Full image reproductions of virtually every book, pamphlet and broadside published in the U.S. over a 170-year period. Items include advertisements, almanacs, catalogs, charters and by-laws, contracts, cookbooks, laws, maps, novels, operas, plays, poems, primers, sermons, songs, speeches, textbooks, tracts, travelogues, treaties and more.
ARTFL
Full text of nearly 3,000 French language texts including literature, non-fiction prose and technical works. Coverage: 13th through the 20th centuries.
Cambridge Histories Online
A growing collection of over 290 volumes covering over 15 different academic subjects - history, history of science, language, linguistics, literature, music, philosophy, political and social theory, religious studies, theatre and the performing arts.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Digital reproductions of all items produced by a printing press (such as books, pamphlets, broadsides) in England and its colonies and any item that was printed anywhere in the world in English. Coverage: 1473-1700.

Forum Romanum
Large collection of Roman texts and their available online translations. Also has a library of Latin literature searchable by author, title, genre, and date.
Gallica
In French. Digital Library project of the French national library providing full-text access to texts, images and audio files from the Middle Ages through the 19th century.
Hathi Trust
Provides cataloging and online access for millions of books and journals digitized by Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and major research libraries.
Internet Archive's Digital Book Collection
The Internet Archive and Open Library offers over 6,000,000 fully accessible public domain eBooks. This includes a special modern collection of over 500,000 eBooks for users with print disabilities, and a very interesting curated, modern collection for the world at large.
Perseus Digital Library
Great collection of classical texts with secondary sources on classical studies.

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
Registration required to use TLG
Full text of virtually all Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.), and A.D. 600 and the majority of surviving works up the fall of Byzantium in A.D. 1453.
Help: Greek fonts

Wright American Fiction
Full text of more than 2,800 novels, novelettes, romances, short stories, tall tales, tract-like tales, allegories, and fictitious biographies and travels from 1774 through 1900.