Guides: How Do I Find ~ Statistics and Data: Health and Vital Statistics

Subscription Databases

Sage Data - Health and Vital Statistics
Access 550+ U.S. and international databases through one central searchable platform. Create custom data visualizations such as maps and trend charts. Master essential data literacy concepts with Data Basics, a reference library that offers guidance on working with statistics.
Health Poll Database
Derived from Roper iPoll, HPD is the most comprehensive database for health-related U.S. survey questions. Questions and results, demographic crosstabs, and trends are available on virtually every topic related to health; from social determinants and influences on health to insurance, costs, and health-care utilization.

Health and Vital Statistics

CDC WONDER
Extensive research data on public health published by Centers for Disease Control (CDC).
Health Nutrition Population Statistics (HNP Stats)
A data hub for health, nutrition and population. World Bank data sets that draws on a variety of data sources from the World Health Organization (WHO), United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF), Food and Agricultural Organization of United Nations (FAO), United Nations Population Division, United Nations Statistics Division, United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA) and the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).
HIV/AIDS Surveillance Data Base
Includes all countries and areas of the world with at least 5,000 population, with the exception of Northern America (including the United States) and U.S. territories. A project of the Health Studies Branch, International Programs Center, U.S. Census Bureau.
International Disaster Database
The Emergency Events Database (EM-DAT) contains essential core data on the occurrence and effects of over 22,000 mass disasters (natural and technological) in the world from 1900 to the present day. In addition to providing information on the human impact of disasters - such as the number of people killed, injured or affected - EM-DAT provides disaster-related economic damage estimates and disaster-specific international aid contributions.
MEASURE DHS
Demographic and Health Survey data and analysis on the population, health, HIV and nutrition of women and children in over 90 developing countries. Measure DHS is a project of the U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID).
Registration is required for access to data.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration Data Archive (SAMHSA)
Data categories: Alcohol Misuse, Cocaine, Depression, Health Finance and Economics, Research and Methodology, Marijuana, Non-Medical Use, Tobacco, and Treatment