Guides: Course Guide ~ CLASC/HIST115 / Greek History: Source Materials

Source Materials

Chicago Homer
The Chicago Homer is a multilingual database that makes the distinctive features of Early Greek epic accessible to readers with and without Greek. Except for fragments, it contains all the texts of these poems in the original Greek. In addition, the Chicago Homer includes English and German translations, in particular Lattimore's Iliad, James Huddleston's Odyssey, Daryl Hine's translations of Hesiod and the Homeric Hymns, and the German translations of the Iliad and Odyssey by Johan Heinrich Voss.
Internet Ancient History Sourcebook
A collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use.
Little Sailing - Ancient Greek Texts
Provides ancient Greek texts available to everyone, "without limits, without strings".

Loeb Classical Library
Search the library catalog for items from the Loeb Classical Library: search "loeb classical library" using the quotation marks to browse all results OR search "loeb classical" <your keyword> to search for specific materials in the collection

Perseus Digital Library
Great collection of classical texts with secondary sources on classical studies.

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
Registration required to use TLG
Full text of virtually all Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.), and A.D. 600 and the majority of surviving works up the fall of Byzantium in A.D. 1453.
Help: Greek fonts