Guides: Course Guide ~ ART 213 / Introduction to Video: Home

Research Steps

Research Process & Tools:

Biographical Information

Encyclopedias - Oxford Art Online, Wikipedia

Artists’ Statements
Artists’ writings and Interviews

Artist's web sites and social media
Museum and gallery web sites
Exhibition catalogs
Published interviews - Search the library catalog for books and articles
Documentaries - Films on Demand, Kanopy, YouTube

Critical Reception
Find film, performance and exhibition reviews; Books; Articles in journals, magazines and newspapers

Library catalog - includes books, articles, videos, etc.
Research databases - Art & Architecture Source, JSTOR, LexisNexis, etc.

Research Services

Ask Us - research librarians and research tutors
Borrow books and request articles using ILLiad
Help with ~ Citing Sources

Campus Resources

Digital Arts Lab
Kennedy Center for Theatre and Studio Arts
Rooms 143 & 144
x4093

Course Support

Bret Olsen
Educational Technologist
Burke Library 357
Kennedy Center Theatre Arts 141
bolsen @hamilton.edu

Lynn Mayo
Research Librarian
Burke Library 115
lmayo@hamilton.edu

Contact R&ID

In person:
Research & Design Studio hours

Call us:
315-859-4735

Email us:
askus@hamilton.edu

Make an appointment:
request form

Find Artists (Biographical, Articles, News)

Oxford Art Online
Gateway to some of Oxford's major art reference sources. Includes Grove Dictionary of Art, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.

Contemporary Artists Index
Look up artists, artists groups, photographers, craftspeople, designers, and design firms whose work appears in select publications in the Cleveland Institute of Art Library.

more... less...

Check the library catalog to see if Hamilton owns the book; if not available request from another library using interlibrary loan.

Hamilton Library Catalog
The library catalog is a one-stop search tool for books, articles, videos, digital media, and more.

Art & Architecture Source
Combines the content of Art Index, Art Abstracts, Art Full Text, Art Index Retrospective, and Art & Architecture Complete to include over 770 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, an image collection, and podcasts from leading museums on artists and individual works of art. Coverage: 1921-present.
Academic Search Premier
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.
JSTOR
Full text of leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences dating back as far as 1665. Hamilton provides access to 17 JSTOR collections with more than 2,300 titles. Journal runs are complete from volume one up to the most recently published issues (past 5 years), which must be accessed elsewhere.

Library owns:
Arts & Sciences collections I-XV
Life Sciences collection
Sustainability collection

Google Scholar
Search for articles in scholarly journals.

ART JOURNALS and PERIODICALS

African Arts
Afterimage
Art in America
Art Journal
Artforum International
ARTnews
Bomb
Contemporaneity
Flash Art International
Nka: Journal of Contemporary African Art
PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Art
Third Text
Third Text Africa

Find reviews of exhibitions, artist interviews, and biographical information on artists in newspaper articles.

Nexis Uni
More than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.

Search FAQ
How to Find a Legal Case
Video: Searching from the Home Page
Video: Source Selection & Creating Permalinks
Video: Creating Alerts
Access World News: Research Collection
Full text of local, regional, national and international news from a variety of news media -- newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos and web-only content.

Hamilton Library Catalog
The library catalog is a one-stop search tool for books, articles, videos, digital media, and more.

Ethnic NewsWatch
Full text articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Searchable in both English and Spanish. Coverage: 1985-present.
GenderWatch
Full text of articles that focus on gender roles from historical and current perspectives. Areas of focus include gay and lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (LGBTQ) studies; family studies; gender studies, and women's studies. Coverage: 1970-present.

Films on Demand - Master Academic Collection
Streaming video collection of more than 25,000 documentary videos and over 240,000 video segments, organized into 25 subject areas. Special features allow faculty and students to bookmark favorites, create and share playlists, embed videos and clips into Blackboard, create proper citations, and easily export citations to RefWorks. Captioning and searchable transcripts available for all titles.

Tools and Features
Your Account & Preferences
Searching & Browsing
Kanopy
A streaming video collection for colleges. Over 25,000 films from producers such as PBS, Media Education Foundation, Criterion Collection, First Run Features, HBO, Kino Lorber, and more.

Kanopy Help
To use Kanopy on mobile devices:
1. Download the Kanopy app (iOS, Android, Amazon Fire, Apple TV, Roku, Chromecast)
2. Create a Kanopy account
3. Add your library. From on campus, choose Hamilton College and sign in with your Hamilton credentials. Once authenticated the app or device can be used from off campus.

Find Books and eBooks

Find Books at Hamilton

Hamilton Library Catalog
The library catalog is a one-stop search tool for books, articles, videos, digital media, and more.

Use these links to browse the library catalog.

ANIMATION, VIDEO ART & FILMMAKING

How To

Sound Effects by Robert L. Mott
Call Number: PN1991.8 .S69 M685 2014

Sound

Sound Effects

Surveys & Theory

Experimental Film and Video: An Anthology by Jackie Hatfield (Editor); Stephen Littman (Editor)
Publication Date: 2015
Film and Video Art by Stuart Comer (Editor)
Call Number: N6494 .V53 F54 2009
Film Art: An Introduction by David Bordwell; Kristin Thompson
Call Number: PN1995 .B617 2012
Earlier editions available in Burke Library stacks.
A History of Video Art by Chris Meigh-Andrews
Call Number: N6494 .V53 M445 2014

Reference Books

Feedback: The Video Data Bank Catalog of Video Art and Artist Interviews by Kate Horsfield (Editor); Lucas Hilderbrand (Editor)
Call Number: Burke Compact Stacks - Reference N6494 .V53 F42 2006
The Routledge Companion to Film History by William Guynn (Editor)
Publication Date: 2010

Release Forms

Releases For Use in Film and Video

Cite Your Sources

OWL: Purdue Online Writing Lab
The OWL provides online resources for using APA, MLA, and Chicago documentation styles.

Video Project Resources

Music

Create your own music using GarageBand.
Available in the Digital Arts Lab (DAL), Kennedy Center for Theatre and Studio Arts, Rooms 143 & 144.

CD-ROMs on Reserve in Burke Library

Extreme Music Library (1998)
Call Number: Burke Reserve Desk M1 .E92 1998
Incidental instrumental music for use in educational productions. Thirteen CDs: (1) Promos; (2) Cheeze; (3) Chill out; (4) Classical hits; (5) Creation; (6) Drones; (7) Drum & bass; (8) Funky soul jamz; (9) Heavy metal; (10) Hip hop; (11) House; (12-13) Sabor latino
Extreme Music Library (2000)
Call Number: Burke Reserve Desk M1 .E922 2000
Incidental instrumental music for use in educational productions. Thirteen CDs: (1) Asian beats; (2) Big beats; (3) Blues rock; (4 ) Electronica; (5) Flamenco; (6) Indie; (7) Jazz; (8) Rhythmworx; (9) Sax trax ; (10) Techno; (11) Weird beats; (12-13) World music

Sound Effects

GarageBand, an application available in the Digital Arts Lab (DAL), has a few hundred sound effects built in.

CD-ROMs on Reserve in Burke Library

BBC sound effects library
Call Number: Burke Reserve Desk PN2091.S6 B22 1991
A 60 CD collection that includes 2,400 royalty free sound effects recorded by BBC's top sound engineers in all corners of the globe.
Period backgrounds sound effects
Call Number: Burke Reserve Desk PN2091.S6 P4 1994
Sixty-nine tracks with sound effects for mixing and looping from the British Library National Sound Archive and the collection of the Oscar-winning film sound mixer Peter Handford.

Video

AP Archives
1.7 million global news and entertainment video stories, which date back to 1895.
British Movietone
Newsreel archive spanning the period 1895 to 1986.
British Pathé
Newsreel and documentary archive of over 85,000 historical films.
Internet Archive - Moving Image
Digital movies which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.
Library of Congress - Motion Pictures
Includes historical footage of important events and scenes of American life and work, television advertisements, early animation, and much more.
Open Culture
Free cultural and educational media (movies, ebooks, textbooks, courses, audio, etc.).
The Public Domain Review
A curated collection of images, books, audio and film determined to be in the public domain, somewhere in the world. Care should be taken to research restrictions placed on the use of any content before re-using, particularly for commercial purposes.
Wikimedia Commons
A vast collection of images, sound and video to which anyone can contribute. License terms are specified for each item.

Images

Flickr
Search for Creative Commons-licensed images.
Open Culture
Free cultural and educational media (movies, ebooks, textbooks, courses, audio, etc.).
The Public Domain Review
A curated collection of images, books, audio and film determined to be in the public domain, somewhere in the world. Care should be taken to research restrictions placed on the use of any content before re-using, particularly for commercial purposes.
Wikimedia Commons
A vast collection of images, sound and video to which anyone can contribute. License terms are specified for each item.

Art Images

Getty Museum
More than 10,000 images from the J. Paul Getty Museum and the Getty Research Institute available through the Open Content Program. These include paintings, drawings, manuscripts, photographs, antiquities, sculpture, decorative arts, artists' sketchbooks, watercolors, rare prints from the 16th through the 18th century, and 19th-century architectural drawings of cultural landmarks.
Google Art Project
Explore the thousands of artworks in the collections of major art museums and galleries from around the world. Viewers can create their own collections and do side-by-side examinations of works.
Metropolitan Museum of Art Images
The Met's Open Access for Scholarly Content (OASC) project provides more than 400,000 high-resolution digital images of public domain works in the Museum’s world-renowned collection. Images may be downloaded for non-commercial use—including in scholarly publications in any media—without permission from the Museum and without a fee.

more... less...

OASC FAQ
National Gallery of Art Images
More than 37,000 open access digital images up to 3000 pixels each are available free of charge for download and use. NGA Images is designed to facilitate learning, enrichment, enjoyment, and exploration.
Rijksmuseum
Over 200,000 works of art. To download an image, you are prompted to indicate your intended use: personal, professional, or commercial. Each has different terms and conditions.

Prints & Photographs

British Library Flickr Photostream
Over one million images taken from the pages of 17th, 18th and 19th century books, available for anyone to use, remix and repurpose.
Getty Images
Images can be freely published on a website or blog or in social media, as long as the photo is not used for commercial purposes.

more... less...

1. Search for an image.
2. Place pointer over an image and click the (< / >) icon.
3. Copy and paste the code into your website or blog.
How to embed Getty Images
Library of Congress - Prints & Photographs
Includes photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.
New York Public Library Digital Gallery
Over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.

Creative Commons
A global nonprofit organization that enables sharing and reuse of creativity and knowledge through the provision of free legal tools.