Guides: Course Guide ~ HIST 367 / Himalayan Mountaineering: Magazines

Collections

Academic Search Premier
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.
American Periodicals
Full-image reproductions of more than 1,100 American magazines and journals. Includes popular, general interest, literary and women's magazines. Coverage 1741-1940.
British Periodicals
Full image reproductions of nearly 500 British magazines and journals. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, music, art, drama, archaeology, architecture, and the social sciences. Coverage: 1681-1920.

Outside Online
American magazine with a stated mission to inspire active participation in the world outside through award-winning coverage of the sports, people, places, adventure, discoveries, health and fitness, gear and apparel, trends and events that make up an active lifestyle.
more...less...
Clicking on the three parallel lines in the upper-left corner will open a dropdown menu with a magnifying glass on top. Click on that icon to search the site. Scrolling to the bottom of any page will also get you to their digital archive, where you can browse past issues of the magazine.

Alpine Journal
The Alpine Journal is an annual publication by the Alpine Club of London. It is the oldest mountaineering journal in the world.

Life Magazine Archive
The famed photojournalism magazine featured story-telling through documentary photographs and informative captions. Coverage: 1936-2000.
National Geographic Virtual Library
The complete archive of National Geographic magazine — every page of every issue — along with a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images and videos. Coverage: 1888 to present.
Over 600 images can be downloaded for educational use.
Time Magazine Archive
The prominent weekly news magazine and an important resource for studying just about any aspect of 20th-century history and life. Coverage: 1923-2000.

ExplorersWeb
ExplorersWeb is a community of athletes, scientists, dreamers, wanderers and above all, explorers. Registered members of the community are free to publish exploration and adventure related articles in the From the Community section. This provides a venue for lesser-known explorers to publicize their activities to the wider community.