Guides: Course Guide ~ RELST 133 / American Freedom and Religious Thought: Articles

Secondary Sources

Academic Search Premier

Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.
Atla Religion Database

Index of journal articles, book reviews, and essay collections in all fields of religion. Areas of focus include the Christian Bible, church history, world religions, theology, and ethics. Coverage: 1949-present.
Black Studies Center
Primary and secondary sources documenting the African-American experience, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. Features scholarly essays, journal and newspaper articles, images, multimedia content, and an index to fiction, poetry and literary reviews from black periodicals.

Primary Sources

African American Newspapers
Complete contents and original layout of more than more than 350 newspapers from 35 states. Coverage: Series 1 & 2; 1827-1998.
America's Historical Newspapers

More than 1,800 newspapers from all 50 states. The colonial and early national newspapers collected by the American Antiquarian Society form the core of this collection. Coverage: 1690-1922.

Library owns Early American Newspapers, Series I-7, 10 and 13.
American Periodicals
Full-image reproductions of more than 1,100 American magazines and journals. Includes popular, general interest, literary and women's magazines. Coverage 1741-1940.
Historical Black Newspapers
Complete contents and original layout of five important African American newspapers.

Includes:
Baltimore Afro-American, 1893-1988
Chicago Defender, 1910-1975
Los Angeles Sentinel, 1934-2005
New York Amsterdam News, 1922-1993
Pittsburgh Courier, 1911-2002
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

Reproduces the newspaper's text, images, and graphics in their original layout. Coverage: 1851-2021.
Women's Magazine Archive
Full backfiles of leading women’s interest consumer magazines. Titles are scanned from cover to cover in high-resolution color and feature detailed article-level indexing. Coverage: 1846-2005.

Better Homes & Gardens, 1922-2005
Chatelaine, 1928-2005
Cosmopolitan, 1886-2005
Essence, 1970-2005
Good Housekeeping, 1885-2005
Ladies’ Home Journal, 1883-2005
Parents, 1926-2005
Redbook, 1903-2005
Seventeen, 1944-2005
Town and Country, 1846-2005
Woman’s Day, 1937-2005
Women’s International Network News, 1975-2003