Guides: Course Guide ~ HIST 224 / The Art of Empire: Vienna: Images & Multimedia

Images

AM Explorer This link opens in a new window
More than 50 thematic collections of primary sources spanning the 15th to the 21st centuries. The collections support research in history, literature, gender studies, race relations, popular culture, and many other areas of the humanities and social sciences.
New collections for 2023:
- Colonial Caribbean, Module II
- East India Company
- Foreign Office Files for Southeast Asia, Section II
- Interwar Culture
- Life at Sea
- Mass Observation Project, Module III
- Victorians on Film
Artstor on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Note: A personal account on JSTOR is required to download images. If you had an Artstor account, you already have a JSTOR account.
An image library for the arts and sciences. A rich collection of more than one million high-resolution images and tools for teaching and research. Subjects include architecture, painting, photography, sculpture, decorative arts and design, as well as archeological and anthropological objects. Coverage: prehistory to present.
Help: Artstor on JSTOR: Working with Images
British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Full image reproductions of nearly 500 British magazines and journals. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, music, art, drama, archaeology, architecture, and the social sciences. Coverage: 1681-1920.

David Rumsey Historical Map Collection
More than 32,000 maps and images focusing on rare 18th and 19th century North and South America.
Digital Reading Room - Osterreichische Nationalbibliothek
The digital collections of the National Library of Austria.
Digital Vienna City Library
Discover historical books, manuscripts, posters and photos on the history of Vienna

Grove Music Online This link opens in a new window
Note: Limited to 1 simultaneous user.
Scholarly encyclopedia for music research with more than 50,000 signed articles and 30,000 biographies.

Online digital musical document libraries
This is a list from Wikipedia of online digital musical document libraries. Each source listed below offers access to collections of digitized music documents (typically originating from printed or manuscript musical sources), and containing music notation of some kind, stored as an image file.
Perry--Castaneda Library Map Collection
More than 11,000 maps scanned by the University of Texas Library. Most are in the public domain, but please credit "University of Texas Libraries" as the source of the scanned images.

Video

Films on Demand - Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection of more than 25,000 documentary videos and over 240,000 video segments, organized into 25 subject areas. Special features allow faculty and students to bookmark favorites, create and share playlists, embed videos and clips into Blackboard, create proper citations, and easily export citations to RefWorks. Captioning and searchable transcripts available for all titles.
Tools and Features
Your Account & Preferences
Searching & Browsing
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
A streaming video collection for colleges. Over 25,000 films from producers such as PBS, Media Education Foundation, Criterion Collection, First Run Features, HBO, Kino Lorber, and more.
Kanopy Help
To use Kanopy on mobile devices:
1. Download the Kanopy app (iOS, Android, Amazon Fire, Apple TV, Roku, Chromecast)
2. Create a Kanopy account
3. Add your library. From on campus, choose Hamilton College and sign in with your Hamilton credentials. Once authenticated the app or device can be used from off campus.
Met Opera on Demand This link opens in a new window
More than 550 full-length Met performances, including HD videos from the Met's award-winning Live in HD series of movie theater transmissions, classic telecasts from the 1970s, 80s, and 90s, and hundreds of radio broadcasts dating back to 1936. All videos contain English subtitles and recent performances include subtitles in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish.

FAQs and Troubleshooting Tips

Audio

Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of classical music. Currently the collection totals 2,539,019 tracks of fine recorded music with hundreds of albums added monthly.
Limited to 3 simultaneous users. Please Log Out when you are finished.
Faculty: Stable URLs for albums, tracks and playlists can be placed in Blackboard. To create playlists for your students, please contact Lynn Mayo for the faculty username and password.
NAXOS Music Library Jazz This link opens in a new window
Wide selection of Jazz Music: From jazz legends to contemporary jazz. Recordings of over 32,000 artists are represented.
Naxos Music Library World App is available for both iOS and Android devices.
Limited to 3 simultaneous users. Please Log Out when you are finished.
Faculty: Stable URLs for albums, tracks and playlists can be placed in Blackboard. To create playlists for your students, please contact Lynn Mayo for the faculty username and password.
NAXOS Music Library World This link opens in a new window
A wide range of content, from legendary historical performances to contemporary world music. Music from over 150 countries, more than 1,500 cultural groups represented. Includes the Smithsonian Folkways Recordings.
Naxos Music Library World App is available for both iOS and Android devices.
Limited to 3 simultaneous users. Please Log Out when you are finished.
Faculty: Stable URLs for albums, tracks and playlists can be placed in Blackboard. To create playlists for your students, please contact Lynn Mayo for the faculty username and password.
Met Opera on Demand This link opens in a new window
More than 550 full-length Met performances, including HD videos from the Met's award-winning Live in HD series of movie theater transmissions, classic telecasts from the 1970s, 80s, and 90s, and hundreds of radio broadcasts dating back to 1936. All videos contain English subtitles and recent performances include subtitles in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish.

FAQs and Troubleshooting Tips

Cylinder Preservation and Digitization Project
From the University of California, Santa Barbara. Contains over 8,000 digital audio files of recordings made in the late 19th and early 20th centuries, including popular songs, Vaudeville, minstrel music, and more.