Guides: Course Guide ~ HIST 383 / History of Photography in Britain and the Empire: Magazine and Newspaper Collections

Selected Newspaper Titles

Manchester Guardian Weekly

Times of London

1985 to present - Monday to Saturday. Full article text. No images.
1985 to present - Sunday. Full article text. No images.
1785 to 2011 - Full text and image. Does not include issues published on Sundays.

Sunday Times

The Sunday Times remains editorially independent from The Times with its own perspective on the news.
Coverage: 1822-2016

British Periodicals
Full image reproductions of nearly 500 British magazines and journals. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, music, art, drama, archaeology, architecture, and the social sciences. Coverage: 1681-1920.

Illustrated London News
Call Number: Burke Periodicals

1913-2003. 1913-1971 are located in Periodicals Oversize.

Life Magazine Archive
NOTICE: New EBSCO Interface coming August 5!
Watch the Tutorial (3:39) ; For details, see the Quick Start Guide.
The famed photojournalism magazine featured story-telling through documentary photographs and informative captions. Coverage: 1936-2000.

National Geographic Virtual Library
The complete archive of National Geographic magazine — every page of every issue — along with a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images and videos. Coverage: 1888 to present.
Over 600 images can be downloaded for educational use.

Women's Magazine Archive
Full backfiles of leading women’s interest consumer magazines. Titles are scanned from cover to cover in high-resolution color and feature detailed article-level indexing. Coverage: 1846-2005.
Better Homes & Gardens, 1922-2005
Chatelaine, 1928-2005
Cosmopolitan, 1886-2005
Essence, 1970-2005
Good Housekeeping, 1885-2005
Ladies’ Home Journal, 1883-2005
Parents, 1926-2005
Redbook, 1903-2005
Seventeen, 1944-2005
Town and Country, 1846-2005
Woman’s Day, 1937-2005
Women’s International Network News, 1975-2003
Vogue Archive
The full contents of Vogue magazine (U.S. edition) in full color page image. Coverage: 1892-present.