Guides: How Do I Find ~ Streaming Video: Home

How do I find videos?

How to find videos:

Search the library catalog by keyword or title. Select "Audio Visual" and "Videos" from the "Resource Type" drop-down menu to find films available in streaming, DVD, and VHS format.
Browse and search the websites of Films on Demand, Kanopy, and Met Opera on Demand.

Need help?

Ask a Librarian or an Educational Technologist for help and guidance in locating and using video in your teaching, research and presentations. Email us at askus@hamilton.edu or call 315-859-4735.

Films on Demand

Films on Demand - Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection of more than 25,000 documentary videos and over 240,000 video segments, organized into 25 subject areas. Special features allow faculty and students to bookmark favorites, create and share playlists, embed videos and clips into Blackboard, create proper citations, and easily export citations to RefWorks. Captioning and searchable transcripts available for all titles.
Tools and Features
Your Account & Preferences
Searching & Browsing

Kanopy

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
A streaming video collection for colleges. Over 25,000 films from producers such as PBS, Media Education Foundation, Criterion Collection, First Run Features, HBO, Kino Lorber, and more.
Kanopy Help
To use Kanopy on mobile devices:
1. Download the Kanopy app (iOS, Android, Amazon Fire, Apple TV, Roku, Chromecast)
2. Create a Kanopy account
3. Add your library. From on campus, choose Hamilton College and sign in with your Hamilton credentials. Once authenticated the app or device can be used from off campus.

TV Rain

TV RAIN [Dozhd] This link opens in a new window
Restricted to on campus access only

Streaming video and article content from the TV Rain network, a Russian independent television channel. Also includes content produced in partnership with the BBC and TED.

OntheBoards.tv

OntheBoards.tv
The films featured on the website include international and US-based contemporary artists, some of whom are rarely seen live stateside, with works that might not be performed again.

Digital Theatre Plus

Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window
Full-length British theatre productions (from Shakespeare to contemporary), in-depth interviews with cast and crew, documentaries, masterclasses, study guides and teaching materials.
Includes works from:
Royal Shakespeare Company, the BBC, Frantic Assembly, BroadwayHD, the Lincoln Center Theater, the Old Vic, the Lyric Hammersmith, the Young Vic, the Stratford Festival, Complicité, Shakespeare's Globe, Gecko Theatre, the Donmar Warehouse, L.A. Theatre Works, the Liverpool Everyman, the Royal Opera House, the Almeida Theatre, the English Touring Theatre, the English National Ballet, and many more.

Met Opera on Demand

Met Opera on Demand This link opens in a new window
More than 550 full-length Met performances, including HD videos from the Met's award-winning Live in HD series of movie theater transmissions, classic telecasts from the 1970s, 80s, and 90s, and hundreds of radio broadcasts dating back to 1936. All videos contain English subtitles and recent performances include subtitles in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish.

FAQs and Troubleshooting Tips
User Guide

OntheBoards.tv

OntheBoards.tv This link opens in a new window
Videos of full-length, contemporary performances (dance, theatre, music) from around the world.

Theatre Performance and Design Collection

Theatre, Performance & Design Collection This link opens in a new window
Filmed stage performances, masterclasses, documentaries, along with top-of-the-line teaching tools (playlists, video clips, on-screen transcripts), and production designs.
Contains the full collections of:
- Audio Drama: The L.A. Theatre Works Collection
- BBC Literary Adaptations in Video
- National Theatre Collection
- Performance Design Archive Online
- The Royal Shakespeare Company Collection: Volumes I & II
- Theatre in Context Collection
- Theatre in Video: Volumes I & II

How Do I Find ~ Streaming Video: Home

Streaming Video at Hamilton

How do I find videos?

More Video Options

Need help?

Films on Demand

Kanopy

TV Rain

OntheBoards.tv

Digital Theatre Plus

Met Opera on Demand

OntheBoards.tv

Theatre Performance and Design Collection