Guides: Subject Guide ~ History: United States: Newspapers

Newspapers at Hamilton

The vast majority of the library's historical newspaper collections were published in the United States before 1923 and after 1980. The few notable exceptions include our African American newspaper collections, some northern New York newspapers, the New York Times, and the Times of London.

For a more complete listing of newspapers published since 1990, consult the library's guide to finding news sources.

United States

COLLECTIONS

Access World News: Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 17,000 local, regional, national and international news sources -- newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos and web-only content.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
More than 1,800 newspapers from all 50 states. The colonial and early national newspapers collected by the American Antiquarian Society form the core of this collection. Coverage: 1690-1922.
Library owns Early American Newspapers, Series I-7, 10 and 13.
African American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Complete contents and original layout of more than more than 270 newspapers from 35 states. Coverage: Series 1 & 2; 1827-1998.

Chronicling America
Chronicling America is a Website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages published between 1836 and 1922.

Historical Black Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Complete contents and original layout of five important African American newspapers.
Includes:
Baltimore Afro-American, 1893-1988
Chicago Defender, 1910-1975
Los Angeles Sentinel, 1934-2005
New York Amsterdam News, 1922-1993
Pittsburgh Courier, 1911-2002
NewspaperARCHIVE.com This link opens in a new window
Full image reproductions of North American and European newspapers, some dating back to the 18th century. Coverage varies significantly by title.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
More than 11,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Search FAQ
How to Find a Legal Case
Video: Searching from the Home Page
Video: Source Selection & Creating Permalinks
Video: Creating Alerts

INDIVIDUAL TITLES

New York Times

1981 to present - Full text and image. (NYT Academic Pass)
1851 to 2019 - Full text and image. (ProQuest)
1980 to present - Full article text. No images. (Nexis Uni)

New York

COLLECTIONS

Access World News - New York
Full text of articles from more than 300 New York state news sources. Missing images and some content.
NYS Historic Newspapers
Complete contents and original layout of more than 200 New York State newspapers.

INDIVIDUAL TITLES

Clinton Courier

1857 to present - Full text and image. (Microfilm)

New York Amsterdam News

1993 to present - Full text and image.
1922 to 1993 - Full text and image.

New York Times

1981 to present - Full text and image. (NYT Academic Pass)
1851 to 2019 - Full text and image. (ProQuest)
1980 to present - Full article text. No images. (Nexis Uni)

Utica Observer-Dispatch

2003-present - Full article text. No images.
1952-2008 - Image.
1952-1957 - Full text and image. (Microfilm)

International

COLLECTIONS

Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876 This link opens in a new window
Series 1, 1718-1876. From the American Antiquarian Society.
Title list

INDIVIDUAL TITLES

Manchester Guardian Weekly

1981-present - Full article text. No images.
1919 to 2005 - Full text and image. (Microfilm)

The Sunday Times

1822-2021 - Full article text and image.

Times of London

1985 to present - Monday to Saturday. Full article text. No images.
1985 to present - Sunday. Full article text. No images.
1822 to 2021 - Sunday. Full article text and image.
1785 to 2011 - Full text and image. Does not include issues published on Sundays.

Library Catalog Searches

Use the table below to develop library catalog searches for primary sources. Replace the words appearing in brackets with specific descriptors (e.g., use american in place of [nationality]).

Searching for . . .	Enter this phrase	+	modifier(s) [see examples]
bibliographies	newspapers and bibliography	and	[ethnic group] [gender] [nationality] [topic]
indexes	newspapers and indexes		[ethnic group] [nationality] [topic]
newspapers by city	newspapers and [city]

Sample Searches

newspapers AND bibliography
newspapers AND chicago