Guides: Subject Guide ~ History: United States: Magazines

Collections

American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection

NOTICE: New EBSCO Interface released!
Watch the Tutorial (3:39) ; For details, see the Quick Start Guide.
Digitized images of 7500 American magazines held by the American Antiquarian Society (AAS), the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction. Coverage: 1691-1877.
American Periodicals
Full-image reproductions of more than 1,100 American magazines and journals. Includes popular, general interest, literary and women's magazines. Coverage 1741-1940.
British Periodicals
Full image reproductions of nearly 500 British magazines and journals. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, music, art, drama, archaeology, architecture, and the social sciences. Coverage: 1681-1920.
Independent Voices

Collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals -- produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century. Coverage: 1950s-present.

Internet Library of Early Journals
Searchable collection of six British journals published during the 18th and 19th centuries.

JSTOR

Full text of leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences dating back as far as 1665. Hamilton provides access to 17 JSTOR collections with more than 2,300 titles. Journal runs are complete from volume one up to the most recently published issues (past 5 years), which must be accessed elsewhere.

Library owns:
Arts & Sciences collections I-XV
Business
Life Sciences collection
Security Studies collection
Sustainability collection
Women's Magazine Archive
Full backfiles of leading women’s interest consumer magazines. Titles are scanned from cover to cover in high-resolution color and feature detailed article-level indexing. Coverage: 1846-2005.

Better Homes & Gardens, 1922-2005
Chatelaine, 1928-2005
Cosmopolitan, 1886-2005
Essence, 1970-2005
Good Housekeeping, 1885-2005
Ladies’ Home Journal, 1883-2005
Parents, 1926-2005
Redbook, 1903-2005
Seventeen, 1944-2005
Town and Country, 1846-2005
Woman’s Day, 1937-2005
Women’s International Network News, 1975-2003

Individual Titles

Atlantic Magazine Archive

NOTICE: New EBSCO Interface released!
Watch the Tutorial (3:39) ; For details, see the Quick Start Guide.
The Atlantic is one of America’s oldest and influential magazines featuring long-form journalism on politics, foreign affairs, business and the economy, culture and the arts, technology, and science. Coverage: 1857-2014
HarpWeek
Harper’s Weekly was an American magazine whose essays and illustrations played a significant role in shaping and reflecting public opinion from the start of the Civil War through the end of the 19th century. Includes index. Coverage: 1857-1912.
Life Magazine Archive

NOTICE: New EBSCO Interface released!
Watch the Tutorial (3:39) ; For details, see the Quick Start Guide.
Life is an American magazine whose groundbreaking photo essays shaped conversations about politics and culture in the mid-20th century. Coverage: 1936-2000.

Burke Library also houses a complete print run of the magazine.
National Geographic Virtual Library
National Geographic is a monthly magazine dedicated to exploration and scientific discovery through storytelling, unsurpassed photography, and cartography. The archive includes a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images and videos. Coverage: 1888 to present.

Burke Library also houses a complete print run of the magazine.
Sports Illustrated Magazine Archive

NOTICE: New EBSCO Interface released!
Watch the Tutorial (3:39) ; For details, see the Quick Start Guide.
Sports Illustrated is an American weekly magazine that pioneered sports reporting in the 20th century. Coverage: 1954-2000
Time Magazine Archive

NOTICE: New EBSCO Interface released!
Watch the Tutorial (3:39) ; For details, see the Quick Start Guide.
Time is an American news magazine whose reporting and format set the standard for weekly news magazines in the 20th century. Coverage: 1923-2000.
Vogue Archive
Vogue is an influential American fashion and lifestyle magazine that views the wider world through the lens of fashion. Coverage: 1892-present.

Indexes and Bibliographies

Academic Search Premier

NOTICE: New EBSCO Interface released!
Watch the Tutorial (3:39) ; For details, see the Quick Start Guide.
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.
Alternative Press Index

NOTICE: New EBSCO Interface released!
Watch the Tutorial (3:39) ; For details, see the Quick Start Guide.
Index of over 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Coverage: 1969-present.
Humanities and Social Science Index Retrospective

NOTICE: New EBSCO Interface released!
Watch the Tutorial (3:39) ; For details, see the Quick Start Guide.
Index of articles and book reviews from important scholarly journals. Coverage 1907-1984.
Readers' Guide Retrospective

NOTICE: New EBSCO Interface released!
Watch the Tutorial (3:39) ; For details, see the Quick Start Guide.
Index of articles from 240 leading general interest magazines published in the U.S. and Canada. Coverage: 1890-1982.

Library Catalog Searches

Use the table below to develop library catalog searches for primary sources. Replace the words appearing in brackets with specific descriptors (e.g., use american in place of [nationality]).

Searching for . . .	Enter this phrase	+	modifier(s) [see examples]
bibliographies	periodicals and bibliography	and	[ethnic group] [gender] [nationality] [topic]
indexes	periodicals and indexes		[ethnic group] [gender] [nationality] [topic]
related titles	periodicals		[ethnic group] [location] [topic]

Sample Searches

bibliography AND periodicals AND african american?
periodicals AND pennsylvania