Guides: Subject Guide ~ Medieval and Renaissance Studies: Articles

Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.
Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Extensive collection of full-text scholarly articles, book reviews, biographical essays, and work overviews. Covers authors and literary topics from all genres, time periods, and regions of the world.
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index This link opens in a new window
Index of journal articles, reviews and essays about women, sexuality and gender during the Middle Ages. Coverage: 1994-present.
International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Note: Limited to 3 simultaneous users.
A multidisciplinary database covering Europe, North Africa and the Near East from 300-1500. Coverage: 1967-present.
ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of journal articles, essays, reviews, books, dissertations, and other secondary literature about the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
Includes:
Iter Bibliography, 400-1700
Bibliography of English Women Writers, 1500-1640
Iter Italicum
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences dating back as far as 1665. Hamilton provides access to 17 JSTOR collections with more than 2,300 titles. Journal runs are complete from volume one up to the most recently published issues (past 5 years), which must be accessed elsewhere.
Library owns:
Arts & Sciences collections I-XV
Business
Life Sciences collection
Security Studies collection
Sustainability collection
L'Année Philologique This link opens in a new window
Note: Limited to 2 simultaneous users.
Index of scholarly work in fields related to the language, literature, history and culture of ancient Greece and Rome. Coverage 1924-present.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Index of books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, film, and linguistics. Coverage: 1926-present.

Studies in the Age of Chaucer
Library owns:
Print: 1979-2010
Online: 1979-present

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Index of articles from over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. In addition to multidisciplinary searches, Web of Science provides tools to track citations to individual articles from their date of publication to the present. Now includes Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Coverage: 1900-present.
Getting Started with Web of Science
Videos

History Compass
History Compass is an online-only journal publishing peer-reviewed state-of-the-field articles of the most important research and current thinking from across the entire discipline. History Compass plays an active role in fostering research that spans centuries and continents, and provides an ideal entry point for the non-specialist.