Guides: Course Guide ~ ART 221 / Introduction to Animation: Home

Campus Resources

Digital Arts Lab
Kennedy Center for Theatre and Studio Arts
Rooms 143 & 144
x4093

Course Support

Bret Olsen
Educational Technologist
Burke Library 357
Kennedy Center Theatre Arts 141
bolsen @hamilton.edu

Lynn Mayo
Research Librarian
Burke Library 115
lmayo@hamilton.edu

Contact R&ID

In person:
Research & Design Studio hours

Call us:
315-859-4735

Email us:
askus@hamilton.edu

Make an appointment:
request form

Books and eBooks

How To

The Animator's Reference Book by Les Pardew; Ross Wolfley
Publication Date: 2005
The Animator's Survival Kit by Richard Williams
Call Number: NC1765 .W55 2009b
Sound Effects by Robert L. Mott
Call Number: PN1991.8 .S69 M685 2014

Sound

Sound Effects

History of Animation

Moving Innovation: A History of Computer Animation by Tom Sito
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 2013
The World History of Animation by Stephen Cavalier
Call Number: TR897.5 .C38 2011

Surveys & Theory

Animating Film Theory by Karen Beckman (Editor)
Call Number: NC1765 .A535 2014
Film Art: An Introduction by David Bordwell; Kristin Thompson
Call Number: PN1995 .B617 2012
Earlier editions available in Burke Library stacks.

Reference Books

The Animated Film Encyclopedia by Graham Webb
Call Number: Ref NC1765 .W42 2000
The 2nd edition is on order. 12/2015
The Anime Encyclopedia by Jonathan Clements; Helen McCarthy
Call Number: Ref NC1766 .J3 C53 2006
The Encyclopedia of Animated Cartoons by Jeff Lenburg
Call Number: Ref NC1766 .U5 L46 2009
The Routledge Companion to Film History by William Guynn (Editor)
Publication Date: 2010

Hamilton Library Catalog
The library catalog is a one-stop search tool for books, articles, videos, digital media, and more.

Find more books. Use these links to browse the library catalog.

ANIMATION, VIDEO ART & FILMMAKING

ART MOVEMENTS

Art, Abstract
Art, Modern - 20th century
Art, Modern - 21st century
Arts, Modern - 20th century
Arts, Modern - 21st century
Avant-garde (Aesthetics)
Avant-garde films -- see Experimental films
Cubism
Dadaism
Fluxus (Group of artists)
Modernism (Art)
Surrealism in motion pictures

Release Forms

Releases For Use in Film and Video

Animation Project Resources

Music

Create your own music using GarageBand, an application available in the Digital Arts Lab (DAL).

CD-ROMs on Reserve in Burke Library

Extreme Music Library (1998)
Call Number: Burke Media M1 .E92 1998
Incidental instrumental music for use in educational productions. Thirteen CDs: (1) Promos; (2) Cheeze; (3) Chill out; (4) Classical hits; (5) Creation; (6) Drones; (7) Drum & bass; (8) Funky soul jamz; (9) Heavy metal; (10) Hip hop; (11) House; (12-13) Sabor latino
Extreme Music Library (2000)
Call Number: Burke Media M1 .E922 2000
Incidental instrumental music for use in educational productions. Thirteen CDs: (1) Asian beats; (2) Big beats; (3) Blues rock; (4 ) Electronica; (5) Flamenco; (6) Indie; (7) Jazz; (8) Rhythmworx; (9) Sax trax ; (10) Techno; (11) Weird beats; (12-13) World music

Sound Effects

GarageBand, an application available in the Digital Arts Lab (DAL), has a few hundred sound effects built in.

CD-ROMs on Reserve in Burke Library

BBC sound effects library
Call Number: Burke Reserve Desk PN2091.S6 B22 1991
A 60 CD collection that includes 2,400 royalty free sound effects recorded by BBC's top sound engineers in all corners of the globe.
Period backgrounds sound effects
Call Number: Burke Media PN2091.S6 P4 1994
Sixty-nine tracks with sound effects for mixing and looping from the British Library National Sound Archive and the collection of the Oscar-winning film sound mixer Peter Handford.

Video

AP Archives
1.7 million global news and entertainment video stories, which date back to 1895.
British Movietone
Newsreel archive spanning the period 1895 to 1986.
British Pathé
Newsreel and documentary archive of over 85,000 historical films.
Internet Archive - Moving Image
Digital movies which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.
Library of Congress - Motion Pictures
Includes historical footage of important events and scenes of American life and work, television advertisements, early animation, and much more.
Open Culture
Free cultural and educational media (movies, ebooks, textbooks, courses, audio, etc.).
The Public Domain Review
A curated collection of images, books, audio and film determined to be in the public domain, somewhere in the world. Care should be taken to research restrictions placed on the use of any content before re-using, particularly for commercial purposes.
TED Talks
Short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less) on a variety of topics, from science to business to social and global issues.
Wikimedia Commons
A vast collection of images, sound and video to which anyone can contribute. License terms are specified for each item.

Images

Flickr
Search for Creative Commons-licensed images.
Open Culture
Free cultural and educational media (movies, ebooks, textbooks, courses, audio, etc.).
The Public Domain Review
A curated collection of images, books, audio and film determined to be in the public domain, somewhere in the world. Care should be taken to research restrictions placed on the use of any content before re-using, particularly for commercial purposes.
Shared Shelf Commons
An open access database of image collections shared by institutional users of Shared Shelf. Search and browse collections with tools to zoom, print, export, and share images. Institutions that subscribe to Shared Shelf can choose to share their images with the world via the Commons.
Wikimedia Commons
A vast collection of images, sound and video to which anyone can contribute. License terms are specified for each item.

Art Images

Art Images for College Teaching
A royalty-free image exchange resource for the educational community.
Artstor Images for Academic Publishing (IAP)
IAP provides free print-quality images for use in scholarly publications. Scholars at institutions that subscribe to Artstor can access these images through the Artstor Digital Library. Simply add IAP to your search criteria; the eligible results will feature the IAP icon beneath the thumbnail image. Other scholars may request free access to IAP by emailing iap@artstor.org.
Getty Museum
More than 10,000 images from the J. Paul Getty Museum and the Getty Research Institute available through the Open Content Program. These include paintings, drawings, manuscripts, photographs, antiquities, sculpture, decorative arts, artists' sketchbooks, watercolors, rare prints from the 16th through the 18th century, and 19th-century architectural drawings of cultural landmarks.
Google Art Project
Explore the thousands of artworks in the collections of major art museums and galleries from around the world. Viewers can create their own collections and do side-by-side examinations of works.
Metropolitan Museum of Art Images
The Met's Open Access for Scholarly Content (OASC) project provides more than 400,000 high-resolution digital images of public domain works in the Museum’s world-renowned collection. Images may be downloaded for non-commercial use—including in scholarly publications in any media—without permission from the Museum and without a fee.
more...less...
OASC FAQ
National Gallery of Art Images
More than 37,000 open access digital images up to 3000 pixels each are available free of charge for download and use. NGA Images is designed to facilitate learning, enrichment, enjoyment, and exploration.
Rijksmuseum
Over 200,000 works of art. To download an image, you are prompted to indicate your intended use: personal, professional, or commercial. Each has different terms and conditions.

Prints & Photographs

British Library Flickr Photostream
Over one million images taken from the pages of 17th, 18th and 19th century books, available for anyone to use, remix and repurpose.
Getty Images
Images can be freely published on a website or blog or in social media, as long as the photo is not used for commercial purposes.
more...less...
1. Search for an image.
2. Place pointer over an image and click the (< / >) icon.
3. Copy and paste the code into your website or blog.
How to embed Getty Images
Library of Congress - Prints & Photographs
Includes photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.
New York Public Library Digital Gallery
Over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.

Creative Commons
A global nonprofit organization that enables sharing and reuse of creativity and knowledge through the provision of free legal tools.