Guides: Course Guide ~ BIO 100P / Evolution of Sex: Research Databases

Research Databases

Articles - Science

Google Scholar
Search for articles in scholarly journals, and link to Hamilton's subscriptions and resources, including full text articles.

Also try...

Web of Science
Index of articles from over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. In addition to multidisciplinary searches, Web of Science provides tools to track citations to individual articles from their date of publication to the present. Now includes Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Coverage: 1900-present.
Getting Started with Web of Science
Videos
MEDLINE
EBSCO interface to NCBI PubMed. Index to journal articles with information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more. Coverage: 1950-present.

General & News Sources

ScienceDaily.com
Latest research news, links to scholarly articles.
Hamilton Library Catalog
The library catalog is a one-stop search tool for books, articles, videos, digital media, and more.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

Opposing Viewpoints - Balance Your Topic

Opposing Viewpoints
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
Provided by the New York State Library, NOVELny is a Statewide Internet Library connecting New Yorkers to 21st century information. NOVELny is supported with temporary federal Library Services and Technology Act funds from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS).

Citation Style for the journal SCIENCE

Example of a cited journal article in References:

1. A. F. Kahrl, R. R. Snook, J. L. Fitzpatrick, Fertilization mode differentially impacts the evolution of vertebrate sperm components. Nature Communications. 13, 6809 (2022).

Link to a full text article from the journal SCIENCE:

A. Wei et al., Sexually dimorphic dopaminergic circuits determine sex preference. Science. 387, eadq7001 (2025).

Instructions for Authors: Citation Style for the journal SCIENCE

Evaluating Sources

Evaluating Sources for Credibility

Research Starting Points

Have a plan when conducting research:

Ask questions.

Think of questions about your topic, and search in databases.
After reading articles, think about what interests you. Ask new questions, and look for more information.

Find the starting point:

Library Catalog - Searches books, articles, audio and video files, images, government documents, and more. All Searches
Academic Search Premier - Indexes journals across disciplines. General Searches
Subject Guides - See We Suggest sections for discipline-specific databases. Advanced Searches
How Do I Find... - News sources, images, statistics, primary sources, and more. Targeted Searches

Keep searches simple.

Start with a keyword search
Enter no more than two or three words connected by the word AND
Focus your search by using subject headings

Refine your search.

Repeat your search after reading some of the information gathered in the previous step
Mine the bibliographies of articles on your topic for additional sources

Get help.

Consult a library research guide
Ask a librarian

Request an Appointment

Book an Appointment

For your debate topic or for your final presentations, individualized appointments are available.

Please bring articles you have located to the appointment.

Request an appointment