Guides: Course Guide ~ BIO 211 / Genes, Molecules & Cells: Research Databases

Final Project Assignment

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full text of Elsevier Science articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books covering the scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature published in 24 fields of science. Coverage varies by title.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
EBSCO interface to NCBI PubMed. Index to journal articles with information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more. Coverage: 1950-present.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Index of articles from over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. In addition to multidisciplinary searches, Web of Science provides tools to track citations to individual articles from their date of publication to the present. Now includes Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Coverage: 1900-present.
Getting Started with Web of Science
Videos

ScienceDaily.com
Latest research news, links to scholarly articles.
Google Scholar
Search for articles in scholarly journals, and link to Hamilton's subscriptions and resources, including full text articles.

Help With ~ RefWorks
by Lynn Mayo Last Updated Sep 23, 2024 3180 views this year

Have a plan when conducting research:

Ask questions.

Think of questions about your topic, and search in databases.
After reading articles, think about what interests you. Ask new questions, and look for more information.

Find the starting point:

Library Catalog - Searches books, articles, audio and video files, images, government documents, and more. All Searches
Academic Search Premier - Indexes journals across disciplines. General Searches
Subject Guides - See We Suggest sections for discipline-specific databases. Advanced Searches
How Do I Find... - News sources, images, statistics, primary sources, and more. Targeted Searches

Keep searches simple.

Refine your search.

Repeat your search after reading some of the information gathered in the previous step
Mine the bibliographies of articles on your topic for additional sources

Get help.

For your debate topic or for your final presentations, individualized appointments are available.

Please bring articles you have located to the appointment.