Subject Guide ~ German Studies

Eleven German news sources, majority are English language resources, coverage range: 1997-present.

Two Austrian news sources, both in English. coverage: 1997-2021.

From this advanced search page you can easily limit your search to German language results!

Burke Library maintains a print subscription to Der Spiegel, it is available in the current periodicals section on the second floor

Der Spiegel's website, some content is available for free if you consent to view the site with ads. while other online content is for subscribers only.

English language reporting by Der Spiegel

Der Standard is one of the two most widely read quality newspapers in Austria. Founded in 1988 with the aim of becoming a New York Times for Austria, it describes itself as liberal and politically independent, and is generally considered to be centre-left in orientation. Its wide-reaching website often plays a pioneering role in Austrian online journalism, especially in terms of user engagement. Description via EuroTopics

Burke Library maintains a print subscription to Der Stern, it is available in the current periodicals section on the second floor

Der Stern online via NexisUni, 1998-present

Deutsche Welle, commonly shortened to DW, is a German public, state-owned international broadcaster funded by the German federal tax budget.

The weekly newspaper Die Zeit is one of the few German printed papers to have increased its circulation in recent years, growing 8.3 percent since 1998. Die Zeit fosters debate and often places diverging opinion pieces opposite one another or presents a spectrum of different opinions in article series. There are regional editions for Austria, Switzerland, and Hamburg. Description via EuroTopics

Blick is a Swiss German-language daily newspaper and online news website covering current affairs, entertainment, sports and lifestyle. Based in Zürich, it is the largest newspaper in Switzerland with a print circulation of around 285,000. The newspaper has been printed continuously since its inception in 1959.

The newspaper information system ZEFYS is a portal for free access to historical newspapers (with publication dates up to Ca. 1945) which have been digitised by Berlin State Library. Current digital newspapers (publication dates from 1945 onwards), which are either available free of charge online or licenced by the Berlin State Library, as well as other newspaper portals and newspaper databases are listed in our link collection to electronic resources. For full text access you must register using your Google account

This index to German-language newspaper access in North America is a project of the Collection Development Working Group
of the Center for Research Libraries' German-North American Resources Partnership (GNARP) in cooperation with the European Studies Section (ESS). The scope includes German-language newspapers regardless of geographic location. The emphasis is on historical newspaper holdings; lists of current online editions can be found in the Internet Public Library and elsewhere. General news is the main focus; specialized, narrow, trade or niche newspapers are not well represented. As a complement you can also consult the International Coalition on Newspapers (ICON) and the News webpage on the ESS German Studies guide. For access to German-language newspapers published in the United States, see Library of Congress' Chronicling America: Historical American Newspapers.

The German language newspaper holdings of the Europeana website. Europeana provides cultural heritage enthusiasts, professionals, teachers, and researchers with access to Europe's digital cultural heritage. Why? To inspire and inform fresh perspectives and open conversations about our history and culture. To share and enjoy our rich cultural heritage. To use it to create new things.

ANNO ( A ustria N Newspaper Online ) is the virtual newspaper reading room of the Austrian National Library. In ANNO you can browse, read and search for historical Austrian newspapers and magazines online. In addition to international history, newspapers also document regional and local history, politics, culture and social issues. Our goal is to create easy, location- and time-independent access to the newspaper and magazine holdings of the Austrian National Library. Digitization also offers the possibility of a real overview of a newspaper or magazine, as missing issues can be supplemented by scanning them from another institution's copy, which means that a complete issue can be created virtually.