Guides: Course Guide ~ SOC 234 / Populism: Primary Sources

Newspapers

Nexis Uni

More than 11,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.

Search Tips

Search Tips:

Select “Advanced Search.”
Select “News."
Select “Headlines and Lead Sections” from the dropdown menu located on the right side of the top search box.
Perform a boolean search connecting your keywords with “AND” (e.g., sarah AND palin AND populist); or place quotation marks around phrases (e.g., "occupy wall street").
Focus your search using the limiters in the left-hand column.

New York Times
Registration and additional NYT sources.
A national daily newspaper with worldwide influence and readership, often regarded as the "newspaper of record" in the U.S.
Washington Post
Registration and additional WaPo sources.
The U.S. capital region's leading daily newspaper distinguished for its political reporting on the workings of the White House, Congress, and other aspects of the U.S. government.

Access World News: Research Collection
Full text of over 17,000 local, regional, national and international news sources -- newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos and web-only content.

Academic Search Premier

Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.
Alternative Press Index

Index of over 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Coverage: 1969-present.
Time Magazine Archive

Time is an American news magazine whose reporting and format set the standard for weekly news magazines in the 20th century. Coverage: 1923-2000.