Guides: Course Guide ~ BIO 425 / SEMINAR IN EPIGENETICS: Research Databases

Original Research and Literature Reviews

MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
EBSCO interface to NCBI PubMed. Index to journal articles with information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more. Coverage: 1950-present.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Index of articles from over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. In addition to multidisciplinary searches, Web of Science provides tools to track citations to individual articles from their date of publication to the present. Now includes Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Coverage: 1900-present.
Getting Started with Web of Science
Videos

Annual Review of Genomics and Human Genetics
Annual Review of Genetics
Google Scholar
Search for articles in scholarly journals, and link to Hamilton's subscriptions and resources, including full text articles.

Background Information

A Dictionary of Genetics by Robert C. King; Pamela K. Mulligan; William D. Stansfield
ISBN: 0199766444
Publication Date: 2012-12-06
Oxford Concise Medical Dictionary
ISBN: 9780191059575

NCBI MedGen
Organizes information related to human medical genetics, such as attributes of conditions with a genetic contribution.

Encyclopedia of Life Sciences This link opens in a new window
An encyclopedia covering all aspects of the life sciences. Updated continually. Wiley.

Societal Aspects of Genetics & Epigenetics

ScienceDaily.com
New research findings described by journalists and linked to the primary research articles and sources

Genetics Generation - Case examples presented to improve public understanding of current genetic technologies and the ethical questions they raise.

Nexis Uni - More than 11,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
HeinOnline Academic - Nearly 2,700 journals covering political science, history, criminal justice, women's studies, religious studies, and more than 80 other subject areas.

Citation Style for APA Style

Reference List Examples with DOI and URL:

Kramer, R. S., & Ritchie, K. L. (2016). Disguising Superman: How glasses affect unfamiliar face matching. Applied Cognitive Psychology, 30(6), 841-845. https://doi.org/10.1002/acp.3261

Tabatabayi, M. H., Tavakoli, A., & Ameghani, B. A. (2017). Regenerative property of PRF used as capping material in pulpotomy in dogs. Biomedical Research, 28(10), 4634-4639. Retrieved February 1, 2023, from http://www.biomedres.org/journal

Purdue Owl: APA Citation Style

Course Guide ~ BIO 425 / SEMINAR IN EPIGENETICS: Research Databases

Research Databases

Original Research and Literature Reviews

Background Information

Societal Aspects of Genetics & Epigenetics

APA Citation Style

Citation Style for APA Style

Evaluating Sources

Evaluating Sources

Request an Appointment

Book an Appointment