This guide offers access to information about STEM student involvement and support, with a focus on highlighting valuable sources of enrichment and opportunities for marginalized students.
* Created by:
Jorge Perez-Vazquez '24 & Leah Bell '24, with support from Reid Larson, Research Librarian for Scholarly Communication & Digital Initiatives, Glynis Asu, Research Librarian for Mathematics & the Sciences, and the Students and Instructors of CHEM/PHYS 348: Science, Technology & Society.
To strengthen STEM identity, promote accessibility, improve academic support, foster professional growth, and prevent information overload. Addressing these factors has been proven to be crucial to cultivate a more inclusive and representative scientific culture.
Read more...
Get to Know Us
Agents of Change: Strategy and Tactics for Social Innovation by 
How to Change the World by 
Social Entrepreneurship: New Models of Sustainable Social Change by 
Why Not?: How to Use Everyday Ingenuity to Solve Problems Big and Small by Social Issues
The Road Through the Rust Belt: From Preeminence to Decline to Prosperity by 
Social Problems and Inequality: Social Responsibility Through Progressive Sociology by Leadership
One World: Teaching Tolerance and Participation by 
Thinking about Leadership by 
The Transforming Leader by 
What to Ask the Person in the Mirror: Critical Questions for Becoming a More Effective Leader and Reaching Your Potential by Leadership in Women
The Athena Doctrine: How Women (and the Men Who Think Like them) will Rule the Future by 
Dare: Straight Talk on Confidence, Courage, and Career for Women in Charge by 
Gender and Women's Leadership: A Reference Handbook by 
Lean In: Women, Work, and the Will to Lead by 
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice by 
Encyclopedia of Global Studies by 
Encyclopedia of Social Problems by 
Environmental Leadership by Gender and Women's Leadership: A Reference Handbook by Find more books on social innovation and leadership. Use these links to search our catalog:
Full text of leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences dating back as far as 1665. Hamilton provides access to 17 JSTOR collections with more than 2,300 titles. Journal runs are complete from volume one up to the most recently published issues (past 5 years), which must be accessed elsewhere.
Shared Experiences
Share your Experiences!
The Clinton Global Initiative — an initiative of the Clinton Foundation, convenes global leaders to create and implement innovative solutions to the world's most pressing challenges. The website provides access to the stories of successful leaders and resources to innovate.
Fixes - The Opinionator (NYT) — written by David Bornstein, a writer on social innovation and author of "How To Change the World" and Tina Rosenberg, author of “Join the Club: How Peer Pressure Can Transform the World.”
Government Innovators Network — a marketplace of ideas and examples of government innovation for policymakers, policy advisors, and practitioners.
Mix Market — microfinance data and Social Performance measurements for the microfinance institutions that help alleviate global poverty.
Open IDEO — an “open innovation platform” where crowdsourcing is utilized to generate ideas and solutions for social innovation.
Renovating the Rust Belt — a blog by Marianne Eppig, a changemaker, documenting initiatives and projects that are underway to improve the economy and revitalize the city in Cleveland, Ohio.
Skoll World Forum — the Debates and Series section is a collection of op-eds and articles from SKF’s community of contributors. Here you’ll find advice about best practices from social entrepreneurs and the latest on a wide range of global issues from leaders and experts in the field.
Hamilton College, 198 College Hill Road, Clinton, NY 13323 • 315-859-4735 • Copyright © 2024 The Trustees of Hamilton College. All rights reserved.
