Guides: How Do I Find ~ Statistics and Data: Data Sets

Data Sets - U.S.

ICPSR This link opens in a new window
A MyData account is required to download members-only data and some publicly available data. Over 700+ studies are available for online data analysis (i.e., no downloading required) using Survey Documentation Analysis (SDA).
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research data archive of more than 800,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
Help Center
Resources for Instructors
Teaching with Data
Note: Questions regarding data holdings should be directed to: Lynn Mayo, ICPSR Official Representative at Hamilton College, Burke Library, 315-859-4746.
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research and iPOLL This link opens in a new window
NOTE: Registration required to view questions/results and to download data sets.
The largest collection of poll data anywhere. Broad topical coverage of opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, and international affairs. Coverage: 1935-present.
Video Tutorials

Sage Data
Access 550+ U.S. and international databases through one central searchable platform. Create custom data visualizations such as maps and trend charts. Master essential data literacy concepts with Data Basics, a reference library that offers guidance on working with statistics.
American National Election Studies (ANES)
Surveys on voting, public opinion, and political participation in the U.S., 1948-current.
General Social Survey
The GSS contains a standard core of demographic, behavioral and attitudinal questions tracking the opinions of Americans, plus topics of special interest. Many of the core questions have remain unchanged since 1972 to facilitate time trend studies.The GSS takes the pulse of America, and has tracked the opinions of Americans over the last four decades.
Pew Research Center Data Sets
Pew research focuses on U.S. politics and policy; journalism and media; internet, science and technology; religion and public life; Hispanic trends; global attitudes and trends; and U.S. social and demographic trends.

IMF eLibrary Data
The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Popular datasets include International Financial Statistics, Direction of Trade, Balance of Payments, Government Finance Statistics, and more.
World Bank Databases
Comprehensive selection of economic, social and environmental indicators, drawing on data from the World Bank and more than 30 partner agencies. More than 900 indicators for 210 economies. Coverage: 1960-present.
Sage Data
Access 550+ U.S. and international databases through one central searchable platform. Create custom data visualizations such as maps and trend charts. Master essential data literacy concepts with Data Basics, a reference library that offers guidance on working with statistics.

Cross-National Time-series Data Archive (CD-ROM)
Call Number: Location: Burke Reserve Desk HA154 .C76
A longitudinal data series. The archive has 194 variables and contains data for over 200 country units. Variables cover demographic, social, political, and economic topics. Data files are in an Excel format. Coverage: 1815-2010 (excluding the two modern wartime periods, 1914-1918 and 1940-1945).