Guides: Course Guide ~ LIT220 / Literature & Colonialism: Genres of Empire: Home

Books at Hamilton

Secondary Literature

Bibliography of Asian Studies
Bibliography of articles, books, chapters, and conference proceedings for Asian studies, including citations to all articles from the 100 most-used journals in the field. Coverage: 1971-present.
Historical Abstracts
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.
MLA International Bibliography
Index of books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, film, and linguistics. Coverage: 1926-present.
JSTOR
Full text of leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences dating back as far as 1665. Hamilton provides access to 17 JSTOR collections with more than 2,300 titles. Journal runs are complete from volume one up to the most recently published issues (past 5 years), which must be accessed elsewhere.
Library owns:
Arts & Sciences collections I-XV
Business
Life Sciences collection
Security Studies collection
Sustainability collection

Subject Specialist

Kristin Strohmeyer
Research & Outreach Librarian
kstrohme@hamilton.edu
315-859-4481

Newspaper and Magazine Collections

America's Historical Newspapers
More than 1,800 newspapers from all 50 states. The colonial and early national newspapers collected by the American Antiquarian Society form the core of this collection. Coverage: 1690-1922.
Library owns Early American Newspapers, Series I-7, 10 and 13.
American Periodicals
Full-image reproductions of more than 1,100 American magazines and journals. Includes popular, general interest, literary and women's magazines. Coverage 1741-1940.
British Periodicals
Full image reproductions of nearly 500 British magazines and journals. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, music, art, drama, archaeology, architecture, and the social sciences. Coverage: 1681-1920.
Times Digital Archive
Reproduces the newspaper's text, images, and graphics in their original layout for the London Times. Coverage: 1785-2019.
Note: Content from the Sunday Times is not included in this database.
Sunday Times Historical Archive
The largest-selling British national newspaper, published by Times Newspapers Ltd. The Sunday Times remains editorially independent from The Times with its own perspective on the news. Coverage: 1822-2021

Citation Guides

The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. The Literature Department generally follows guidelines from the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. Ask your professor if he or she prefers a particular citation style, and consult the library's guide to citing sources for additional resources.

If you need more help, don't hesitate to ask a librarian.

MLA Handbook
Call Number: Burke Research Desk LB2369 .M52 2021
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in English and the humanities. See the MLA Style Center for FAQs and explanations of core elements.

OWL: Purdue Online Writing Lab
The OWL provides online resources for using APA, MLA, and Chicago documentation styles.

Document Collections

Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Digital reproductions of all items produced by a printing press (such as books, pamphlets, broadsides) in England and its colonies and any item that was printed anywhere in the world in English. Coverage: 1473-1700.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
A fully text-searchable corpus of books, pamphlets and broadsides in all subjects printed between 1701 and 1800. The English Short Title Catalog (ESTC) project has been recording all works published or printed in Britain, Ireland, territories under British colonial rule, and the United States. Coverage: 1701-1800.
The works themselves vary from multi-volume encyclopaedia to dictionaries, law books, histories, poetry, novels, and plays, biographies, works of science, philosophy, theology, religious books, tracts and sermons, royal, government or local proclamations, letters, journals and diaries, almanacks, acts of parliament, works on art, architecture, and auction catalogues, music, petitions, and schoolbooks.
Readex AllSearch
Collections of books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents and ephemera printed in America over three centuries.
Includes:
America's Historical Imprints
America's Historical Newspapers
American State Papers, 1789-1838
House and Senate Journals, Series I, 1789-1817
Senate Executive Journals, 1789 - 1980
U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980
U.S. Congressional Serial Set Maps, 1817-1980

Avalon Project
The Avalon Project will mount digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government.

Caribbean History and Culture, 1535-1920
Imprints from the Library Company of Philadelphia. Covers the diverse history of Caribbean islands over nearly 400 years
Includes books, pamphlets, almanacs, broadsides and ephemera.

Lesser Antilles Collection
The Lesser Antilles Collection is the pièce de résistance of the Hamilton College Library collections. It is the preeminent collection of materials on the Lesser Antilles, largely from the 16th-19th centuries. The collection includes over 1700 manuscripts, including plantation reports, correspondence, oil paintings and watercolors.
The Library's collection is complemented by the Wellin Museum's holdings of prints, drawings, watercolors, and oil paintings dating from the 18th and 19th centuries. See Wellin's Beinecke Collection of the Lesser Antilles.

This collection was originally developed by Walter Beinecke, Jr., and donated to the Hamilton College Library. The Library has added to the collection in recent years when possible.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
The Library of Congress makes more than 2 million items from its collection available online, including images, manuscripts, books, notated music, audio and video recordings, and more.

Papers of Alexander Hamilton
Contains all the personal and public writings by and to Hamilton known to exist, some 12,500 documents.