Guides: Help With ~ Remote Learning Resources for Students: Library Resources

Library Resources

Hamilton students have access to online books, articles, streaming media, and document collections along with dozens of guides to help them discover and incorporate these resources into online teaching and learning. You can access almost all of the library's electronic resources from off campus.

The surest way to get to online resources licensed by Hamilton when you are away from campus is through the LITS website. When you are off campus we use a proxy server to validate your access to our online resources, so whenever you click on a link from our website you will be prompted for your Hamilton network login and password. If you are asked for any other credentials it is typically because Hamilton does not provide access to that particular resource or you have not navigated to it by way of the LITS website.

Essential Links

Library & IT Services Home

LITS Guides

Hamilton Library Catalog

Books

The Hamilton Library Catalog includes nearly 600,000 records for online books. In addition to these books, VitalSource is offering free access to eTextbooks for students at campuses with a Barnes & Noble store that have closed due to COVID-19 (including Hamilton College).

How Do I Find eBooks

Articles

Like books, online articles can be accessed by searching the library catalog and refining your results. If you have a favorite database, you can find that on our Databases A to Z page. If you need to find out which databases index scholarly articles in a particular area of study, consult our LITS subject guides.

Retrieve or Request Articles with Find It

The Find It icon appears in most library databases. Click on it to:

link to the full text of your article
link to an autofill form you can use to request a copy of your article from another library. Most articles arrive within 2-5 days

Retrieve or Request Articles with a Citation

Use Citation Lookup to help you retrieve your article or request it from another library
Use Journals A to Z to see if our library owns the journal you want
Fill out an online request form: Logon to ILLiad

More Online Resources

LITS has more than 70 guides that include information on finding a host of additional online resources.

Interlibrary Loan Requests

You can submit requests for journal articles and book chapters unavailable at either Burke Library or the library at your host institution using interlibrary loan. When your article is available for you to download, you will receive an email from Hamilton ILL with instructions on how to access the PDF. Books cannot be requested while you are off campus.

Select the Find It link in the library catalog and most of our databases to navigate to an autofill form to request articles we don't have access to online.
Or, logon to ILLiad to fill out an online request form.

Email the Interlibrary Loan Department at askILL@hamilton.edu with any questions.