Guides: Course Guide ~ CNMS 201 / Introduction to Digital Humanities: Background Information

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History
Call Number: REF E169.1 .E624 2001
ISBN: 0684805618
Publication Date: 2001
v. 1. Historical periods, Early America, 1771-1838, 1838-1877, 1878-1912, 1913-1940
v. 2. Historical periods, 1941-1959, 1960-1980, 1981-2000, peoples, places, God & nature, political order
v. 3. Economic order, social order, knowledge, the arts, methods, index.
Encyclopedia of New York City by Kenneth T. Jackson (Editor); Nancy Flood (Editor); Lisa Keller (Editor)
Call Number: REF F128.3 .E75 2010
ISBN: 9780300114652
Publication Date: 2010
Encyclopedia of Southern Culture by Charles Reagan Wilson (Editor); William Ferris (Editor); Alex Haley; Anne J. Adadie (Editor); Mary L. Hart (Editor)
Call Number: REF F209 .E53 1989
ISBN: 0807818232
Publication Date: 1989

Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Gateway to some of Oxford's major music reference sources with more than 60,000 signed articles. Includes full texts with updates of:
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition (2001)
The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition (2002)
The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992)
The Norton Grove Dictionary of Women Composers (1994)
The Grove Dictionary of American Music, 2nd edition (2013; in process)
The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments, 2nd edition (2014; in process)

Note: Limited to 1 simultaneous user.

Dictionaries and Handbooks

Encyclopedia of America in the Twentieth Century by Stanley I. Kutler (Editor)
Call Number: REF E740.7 .E53 1996
ISBN: 9780132105354
Publication Date: 1995
v. 1. The American people - Politics
v. 2. Global America - Science, technology, and medicine
v. 3. The economy
v. 4. Culture - Index
v. 5. Index.
Encyclopedia of American Urban History by David R. Goldfield (Editor)
ISBN: 0761928847
Publication Date: 2006
A two volume A to Z encyclopedia covering the rise of urban America in the 20th century. Interdisciplinary approach covering topics from economics, geography, anthropology, politics, and sociology. Consists of 450 entries from over 200 contributors.
The Greenwood Guide to American Popular Culture by M. Thomas Inge (Editor); Dennis Hall (Editor)
Call Number: REF E169.1 .H2643 2002
ISBN: 0313308780
Publication Date: 2002
v. 1. Almanacs through Do-it-yourself
v. 2. Editorial cartoons through Illustration
v. 3. Jazz through Propaganda
v. 4. Pulp and dime novels through Young adult fiction.
The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz by Barry D. Kernfeld (Editor); Barry Kernfeld (Editor)
Call Number: REF ML102.J3 N48 2002
ISBN: 1561592846
Publication Date: 2003
New York, Chicago, Los Angeles by Janet L. Abu-Lughod
Call Number: HT123 .A613 1999
ISBN: 0816633355
Publication Date: 1999
The Oxford Companion to Jazz by Bill Kirchner (Editor)
Call Number: REF ML3507 .O94 2000
ISBN: 019512510X
Publication Date: 2000
Reference library of Black America by Jessie Carney Smith, Joseph M. Palmisano.
Call Number: REF E185 .R44 2000
ISBN: 0787643653
Publication Date: 2000
Presents information on all aspects of African-American life including politics, employment and income, education, religion, literature, performing arts, science and medicine, and sports.
The 20th Century, 1901-1940 by Robert F. Gorman (Editor)
Call Number: REF D421 .G629 2007
ISBN: 9781587653247
Publication Date: 2007
v. 1. 1901-1907
v. 2. 1907-1915
v. 3. 1915-1923
v. 4. 1923-1930
v. 5. 1930-1937
v. 6. 1937-1940.
Working Americans, 1880-2011 by Scott Derks (Editor)
Call Number: REF HD8066 .D47 2000
ISBN: 9781592377626
Publication Date: 2011
v. 12. Our history through music

Maps and Atlases

AtoZ Maps Online This link opens in a new window
Collection of more than 146,000 proprietary and royalty-free maps. All maps are high resolution starting at 300dpi with some as large as poster-size. Many maps are PowerPoint-ready. Updated monthly.

Online Map Collections
An annotated list of online map resources compiled by the Educational Technology Services Team at Hamilton College.