Guides: How Do I Find ~ Primary Sources: Newspapers

Current

Access World News: Research Collection
Full text of over 17,000 local, regional, national and international news sources -- newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos and web-only content.
Chronicle of Higher Education

Registration Information
Full text of the Chronicle of Higher Education with news and job information for college and university faculty members, administrators, and students.

Have a Chronicle account? Go to Chronicle.com and Sign In
Register for a free Chronicle account. Hamilton.edu email address required.
1. Sign Up at Chronicle.com. Use your Hamilton.edu email address.
2. You will receive a confirmation email. Follow the directions in the email to activate your account.
3. Sign up for their newsletters; all are included except the Daily Briefing.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Full text articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Searchable in both English and Spanish. Coverage: 1985-present.
Gale OneFile: News
More than 1,000 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world.

Provided by the New York State Library, NOVELny is a Statewide Internet Library connecting New Yorkers to 21st century information. NOVELny is supported with temporary federal Library Services and Technology Act funds from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS).
Independent Voices

Collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals -- produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century. Coverage: 1950s-present.
Le Monde

Note: Limited to 10 users at one time.
A French daily newspaper, regarded as France's leading newspaper of record.
Latest 28 days of content available. Some English language are not included in Hamilton's subscription.
New York Times
Registration and additional NYT sources.
A national daily newspaper with worldwide influence and readership, often regarded as the "newspaper of record" in the U.S.
Newspaper Source

Cover-to-cover full text for 45 national (U.S.) & international newspapers. Also includes selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers and some full text television and radio news transcripts. Coverage varies by title.
Nexis Uni

More than 11,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.

Search Tips
Utica Observer-Dispatch
The Observer-Dispatch is a newspaper serving the Utica-Rome metropolitan area in Central New York, circulating in Oneida County, Herkimer County, and parts of Madison County. Coverage: 1952-present
Wall Street Journal

Registration and additional WSJ sources.
An American business-focused, English-language international daily newspaper based in New York City. Coverage: 1998-present.
Washington Post
Registration and additional WaPo sources.
The U.S. capital region's leading daily newspaper distinguished for its political reporting on the workings of the White House, Congress, and other aspects of the U.S. government.
Yomidas Rekishikan

The full text database of The Yomiuri Shinbun, Japan's largest newspaper. Coverage: 1874 to present.

Note: 3 simultaneous access connections are shared among 5 member institutions.

Historical

African American Newspapers
Complete contents and original layout of more than more than 350 newspapers from 35 states. Coverage: Series 1 & 2; 1827-1998.
America's Historical Newspapers
More than 1,800 newspapers from all 50 states. The colonial and early national newspapers collected by the American Antiquarian Society form the core of this collection. Coverage: 1690-1922.

Library owns Early American Newspapers, Series I-7, 10 and 13.
American Prison Newspapers, 1800-2020: Voices from the Inside
Over 450 prison newspapers published from U.S. prisons.
American Religion: Denominational Newspapers

Historical newspapers covering religious news and the role of religion in American life and society. Coverage: 1799-1900.
Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876
Series 1, 1718-1876. From the American Antiquarian Society.

Title list

Chronicling America
Chronicling America is a Website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages published between 1736 and 1963.

Historical Black Newspapers
Complete contents and original layout of five important African American newspapers.

Includes:
Baltimore Afro-American, 1893-1988
Chicago Defender, 1910-1975
Los Angeles Sentinel, 1934-2005
New York Amsterdam News, 1922-1993
Pittsburgh Courier, 1911-2002
Indigenous Newspapers in North America

The newspapers include national periodicals as well as local community news and student publications. This digital collection provides exciting research opportunities into a range of subjects from an Indigenous perspective, including the civil rights era and American Indian Movement (AIM), education, environmentalism, land rights and cultural representation. Coverage: 1828-2016 (The bulk of material is from 1970-2016)

NYS Historic Newspapers
Complete contents and original layout of more than 200 New York State newspapers.

New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

Reproduces the newspaper's text, images, and graphics in their original layout. Coverage: 1851-2021.
NewspaperArchive
Full image reproductions of North American and European newspapers, some dating back to the 18th century. Coverage varies significantly by title.
Sunday Times Historical Archive

The largest-selling British national newspaper, published by Times Newspapers Ltd. The Sunday Times remains editorially independent from The Times with its own perspective on the news. Coverage: 1822-2021
Times Digital Archive
Reproduces the newspaper's text, images, and graphics in their original layout for the London Times. Coverage: 1785-2019.
Note: Content from the Sunday Times is not included in this database.
Washington Post (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

Reproduces the newspaper's text, images, and graphics in their original layout. Coverage: 1877-2008
World News Connection Archive
Foreign news sources (over 500 news sources from 130 countries) selected for translation by the U.S. government. Coverage: 1995-2013.

NOTE: For current international news in translation see: BBC Worldwide Monitoring: International Reports in Nexis Uni.

New York

Access World News - New York
Full text of articles from more than 300 New York state news sources. Missing images and some content.
NYS Historic Newspapers
Complete contents and original layout of more than 200 New York State newspapers.
The New York Times
The New York Times is national daily newspaper with worldwide influence and readership, often regarded as the "newspaper of record" in the U.S. For information on the library's holdings, select the link below.

more... less...

• 1981-present (NYT Academic Pass, registration required)
• 1980-present (Nexis Uni)
• 1851-2021 (ProQuest)

Utica Observer-Dispatch
The Observer-Dispatch is a newspaper serving the Utica-Rome metropolitan area in Central New York, circulating in Oneida County, Herkimer County, and parts of Madison County. Coverage: 1952-present
Wall Street Journal

Registration and additional WSJ sources.
An American business-focused, English-language international daily newspaper based in New York City. Coverage: 1998-present.