Guides: How Do I Find ~ Primary Sources: More Resources by Topic

Advertising

Adland
Adland is a community weblog and advertising archive whose purpose is to share advertising news, and archive advertising work from around the world, concentrating on commercials and videos. The site also features Super Bowl commercials spanning over 40 years. Use the advanced search option at http://adland.tv/search/node to navigate the site's content.
The Advertising Archive
Collection featuring British and American print advertisements from the mid-19th century to the present. Individual advertisements can be downloaded by registered users and are best viewed in a photo editor like Photoshop.
Ad*Access (1911-55)
Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements produced between 1911 and 1955. Product categories include beauty and hygiene, radio, television, transportation, and World War II propaganda.
American Broadsides and Ephemera (1760-1900)
Fully searchable facsimile images of approximately 15,000 broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900.
Emergence of Advertising: 1850-1920
Over 3,300 advertising items and publications dating from 1850 to 1920, illustrating the rise of consumer culture and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States.
Living Room Candidate: Presidential Campaign Commercials
Presidential campaign commercials, 1952-2012.

Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
The full contents of Vogue magazine (U.S. edition) in full color page image. Coverage: 1892-present.
Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Full backfiles of leading women’s interest consumer magazines. Titles are scanned from cover to cover in high-resolution color and feature detailed article-level indexing. Coverage: 1846-2005.
Better Homes & Gardens, 1922-2005
Chatelaine, 1928-2005
Cosmopolitan, 1886-2005
Essence, 1970-2005
Good Housekeeping, 1885-2005
Ladies’ Home Journal, 1883-2005
Parents, 1926-2005
Redbook, 1903-2005
Seventeen, 1944-2005
Town and Country, 1846-2005
Woman’s Day, 1937-2005
Women’s International Network News, 1975-2003

Art and Architecture

Artstor on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Note: A personal account on JSTOR is required to download images. If you had an Artstor account, you already have a JSTOR account.
An image library for the arts and sciences. A rich collection of more than one million high-resolution images and tools for teaching and research. Subjects include architecture, painting, photography, sculpture, decorative arts and design, as well as archeological and anthropological objects. Coverage: prehistory to present.
Help: Artstor on JSTOR: Working with Images

Courtauld Institute of Art: Art and Architecture
Collection of more than 40,000 images.
Getty Museum Open Content Images
More than 10,000 images from the J. Paul Getty Museum and the Getty Research Institute available through the Open Content Program. These include paintings, drawings, manuscripts, photographs, antiquities, sculpture, decorative arts, artists' sketchbooks, watercolors, rare prints from the 16th through the 18th century, and 19th-century architectural drawings of cultural landmarks.
Google Art Project
Explore the thousands of artworks in the collections of major art museums and galleries from around the world. Viewers can create their own collections and do side-by-side examinations of works.
New York Public Library Digital Gallery
Over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
Smithsonian Institution Collections Search
Over 8.6 million catalog records of museum objects, and library & archives materials. More than 1,200,000 of these records contain online images, video and sound files, electronic journals and other online resources.

Cartoons

AAEC Editorial Cartoons
More than 1,000 cartoons by artists of the American Association of Editorial Cartoonists (AAEC) created primarily in the 1960s and 1970s.

Historical

American Broadsides and Ephemera (1760-1900)
Fully searchable facsimile images of approximately 15,000 broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900.
Images from the History of Medicine
U.S. Library of Medicine's collection of nearly 70,000 portraits, photographs, caricatures, genre scenes, posters, and graphic art illustrating the social and historical aspects of medicine dated from the 15th to 21st century.
Internet Archive
The Internet Archive is a non-profit organization dedicated to providing permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format that includes texts, audio, moving images, software, and archived web pages.
Liam's Pictures from Old Books
Over 3,200 free images in high resolution from old rare antique books.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
The Library of Congress makes more than 2 million items from its collection available online, including images, manuscripts, books, notated music, audio and video recordings, and more.
Living Room Candidate: Presidential Campaign Commercials
Presidential campaign commercials, 1952-2012.
National Archives: Online Exhibits
Online exhibits of documents, photographs and other materials on selected topics in American history.
New York Public Library Digital Gallery
Over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
Oyez Project at Chicago-Kent
A multimedia archive devoted to the Supreme Court of the United States and its work. It aims to be a complete and authoritative source for all audio recorded in the Court since the installation of a recording system in October 1955.
Smithsonian Science Service Historical Image Collection
Twentieth-century scientific research consisting of images and original captions as they appeared in period publications.
WyzAnt: History Out Loud
Audio collection of politically significant speeches and interviews, primarily from the 1960s and 1970s. Includes transcripts.

Science and Nature

Great Images in NASA (GRIN)
GRIN is a collection of over a thousand images of significant historical interest scanned at high-resolution in several sizes.
Images from the History of Medicine
U.S. Library of Medicine's collection of nearly 70,000 portraits, photographs, caricatures, genre scenes, posters, and graphic art illustrating the social and historical aspects of medicine dated from the 15th to 21st century.
Smithsonian Science Service Historical Image Collection
Twentieth-century scientific research consisting of images and original captions as they appeared in period publications.
Visible Earth
A catalog of NASA images and animations of our home planet.

Speeches

American Rhetoric
Collection of full text, audio and video versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, and other recorded media events. The site also includes sections devoted to rhetorical devices, Christian rhetoric, 9/11 rhetoric, movie speeches, and political speeches.

Great speeches of the 20th century
Call Number: Burke Reserve Desk E173 .G82 1991
Presents sixty-one historically important speeches by prominent 20th century American figures in politics, government, sports, civil rights, the women's movement, the armed forces, and the space program.

"I Do Solemnly Swear...": Presidential Inaugurations
Collection of approximately 400 items or 2,000 digital files from each of the 54 inaugurations from George Washington's in 1789 to George W. Bush's inauguration of 2001. Includes diaries and letters of presidents and of those who witnessed inaugurations, handwritten drafts of inaugural addresses, broadsides, inaugural tickets and programs, prints, photographs, and sheet music.
WyzAnt: History Out Loud
Audio collection of politically significant speeches and interviews, primarily from the 1960s and 1970s. Includes transcripts.