RELST/LIT 349 / American Scriptures

Digitized images of 7500 American magazines held by the American Antiquarian Society (AAS), the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction. Coverage: 1691-1877.

Collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals -- produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century. Coverage: 1950s-present.

Full text of leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences dating back as far as 1665. Hamilton provides access to 17 JSTOR collections with more than 2,300 titles. Journal runs are complete from volume one up to the most recently published issues (past 5 years), which must be accessed elsewhere.

Life is an American magazine whose groundbreaking photo essays shaped conversations about politics and culture in the mid-20th century. Coverage: 1936-2000.

Time is an American news magazine whose reporting and format set the standard for weekly news magazines in the 20th century. Coverage: 1923-2000.

Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

Index of over 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Coverage: 1969-present.

Index of articles and book reviews from important scholarly journals. Coverage 1907-1984.

Index of articles from 240 leading general interest magazines published in the U.S. and Canada. Coverage: 1890-1982.