Guides: How Do I Find ~ Business and Career-Related Resources: Home

Home

Business and Career-Related Resources

This guide should be used in conjunction with the services provided at the Hamilton College Career Center. Please consult them at 315-859-4346 or stop by the Career Center, located on the third floor of the Bristol Campus Center, to schedule an appointment.

Spotlight on Resources!

Encyclopedia of Associations by Gale Directory Library
Publication Date: 2012
Comprehensive source of detailed information concerning nonprofit American membership organizations of national scope. Covers more than 23, 000 organizations in categories such as trade, business, and commercial; legal, governmental, public administration, and military; cultural; educational; veterans, hereditary, and patriotic; athletic and sports; fan clubs, and many more.

Peterson's Test and Career Prep This link opens in a new window
Note: A personal account is required to access some resources.
Search thousands of college and graduate schools, identify scholarships, take practice tests, create resumes, and explore careers.

Provided by the New York State Library, NOVELny is a Statewide Internet Library connecting New Yorkers to 21st century information. NOVELny is supported with temporary federal Library Services and Technology Act funds from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS).

Handshake

Handshake is a career development platform where students, career centers and recruiters engage and share opportunities. Handshake replaces HamNET and is your one-stop-shop for job and internship opportunities, on-campus employment and events. Student accounts have been preloaded and match your Hamilton log in credentials for easy, single sign-on.

Digital Citizenship

Students recognize the rights, responsibilities, and opportunities of living, learning, and working in an interconnected digital work, and they act in ways that are safe, legal, and ethical.

A digitally literate person has the ability to:

Use digital technology, communication tools or networks to locate, evaluate, use and create information.
Understand and use information in multiple formats from a wide range of sources when it is presented via computers.
Read and interpret media, to reproduce data and images through digital manipulation, and to evaluate and apply new knowledge gained from digital environments.
Cultivate and manage your digital identity and reputation, being aware of the permanence of actions in the digital world.
Demonstrate an understanding of and respect for the rights and obligations of using and sharing intellectual property.

College and University Directories

Don't overlook using college and university websites for more detailed information on a specific school.

Peterson's College Search
Peterson's searchable guide to finding a college or university that's right for you.
Peterson's Graduate Planner
Peterson's searchable guide on finding a graduate program in your field.

Industry Information

IBIS World This link opens in a new window
Over 700 U.S. Industry Reports, 690 Specialized Industry Reports, 300+ U.S. Business Environment Profiles, and 80 Global Industry Reports. Each report, compiled by in-house economists and analysts, includes emerging trends, market share data, revenue, competitive landscape, operating conditions, and industry forecasts.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
U.S. and international company database with financial details of over 13,000 U.S. public companies listed on the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ exchanges, and over 24,000 non-U.S. companies.
Hoover's Online This link opens in a new window
Company information, including company profiles, corporate directory, market quotes, and business news.
Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Research global companies and industries with in-depth analysis through current news, statistical data, and comprehensive reports. Coverage: 1980-present.
Provided by the New York State Library, NOVELny is a Statewide Internet Library connecting New Yorkers to 21st century information. NOVELny is supported with temporary federal Library Services and Technology Act funds from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS).
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
More than 11,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Search Tips

NonProfit Explorer
In April 2013, the IRS released structured data culled from the tax returns of almost 616,000 tax-exempt organizations. Use this database to find organizations and see details like their executive compensation, revenue and expenses, as well as download their tax filings going back as far as 2001.

Occupation Information

O*Net
O*Net provides detailed descriptions of career options that can be searched by job titles or industry, and also can be explored by searching based on your skills, interests, and values.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
The profiles featured here cover hundreds of occupations and describe what they do, work environment, how to become one, pay and more. Each profile also includes BLS employment projections for the 2010-2020 decade.
Climbtheladder
Climbtheladder provides industry and career profiles, including trends, skills, career tracks, and job outlooks.

News Sources

Economist

Newsstand Edition - Links to full text online and info on the library's paper/microform copies.
Website - Selected articles, blogs, podcasts, interactive features, etc.

New York Times

1980 to present - Full article text. No images.
1851 to 2009 - Full text and image.
2008 to present - Full text and image. Not searchable. 2 month delay.

More News Sources

Access World News: Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 17,000 local, regional, national and international news sources -- newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos and web-only content.
Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window
More than 1,000 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world.
Provided by the New York State Library, NOVELny is a Statewide Internet Library connecting New Yorkers to 21st century information. NOVELny is supported with temporary federal Library Services and Technology Act funds from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS).
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
More than 11,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Search Tips

Article Databases

Use these resources to find background information on careers or corporations.

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from nearly 3,600 scholarly publications with indexing and abstracts for nearly 4,400 journals. Includes detailed company profiles for the world's 5,000 largest companies and country economic reports from the EIU and CountryWatch. Coverage: 1965-present.
Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Research global companies and industries with in-depth analysis through current news, statistical data, and comprehensive reports. Coverage: 1980-present.
Provided by the New York State Library, NOVELny is a Statewide Internet Library connecting New Yorkers to 21st century information. NOVELny is supported with temporary federal Library Services and Technology Act funds from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS).
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
More than 11,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Search Tips

Digital Citizenship

Students recognize the rights, responsibilities, and opportunities of living, learning, and working in an interconnected digital work, and they act in ways that are safe, legal, and ethical.

A digitally literate person has the ability to:

Use digital technology, communication tools or networks to locate, evaluate, use and create information.
Understand and use information in multiple formats from a wide range of sources when it is presented via computers.
Read and interpret media, to reproduce data and images through digital manipulation, and to evaluate and apply new knowledge gained from digital environments.
Cultivate and manage your digital identity and reputation, being aware of the permanence of actions in the digital world.
Demonstrate an understanding of and respect for the rights and obligations of using and sharing intellectual property.