Skip to main content
HOMEGUIDESDATABASESHELP

Course Guide ~ SOC 361 / Seminar on Politics and Culture

Some Major Digital Collections

Hamilton College Special Collections

American Prison Writing Archive
The American Prison Writing Archive is a place where imprisoned people and prison staff can write about and document their experience. It is a site where all who live or work inside can bear witness to what is working and what is not inside American prisons, thus grounding public debate about the American prison crisis in lived experience.

 

Communal Societies Collection
The Special Collections of Hamilton College include a substantial gathering of primary and secondary source materials relating to American Communal Societies: groups of people who have intentionally separated themselves from society in general and live according to a shared set of principles, whether religious or secular, in common ownership of property. This collection consists of manuscripts, printed works, visual materials, audio/video materials, ephemera, and a limited number of artifacts from the eighteenth through the late twentieth centuries.

 

Fillius Jazz Archive
A collection of more than 300 videotaped interviews with mainstream and swing era jazz musicians, arrangers, writers and critics.

Some Examples

Below are a few examples of digital collections you might find interesting for your project. There are many more. Contact Reid Larson (rslarson@hamilton.edu) if you need help finding resources related to your particular project.


Advertising

Images

Magazines and Newspapers

Moving Images

Oral Histories

Photographs

Primary Sources (General)

Hamilton College, 198 College Hill Road, Clinton, NY 13323 • 315-859-4735 • Copyright © 2017 The Trustees of Hamilton College. All rights reserved.