Discover manuscript and typescript letters, diaries, notebooks, journals, newspapers, art works, illustrations, photographs, video, and 360-degree objects. From the Gilder Lehrman Institute’s collection of American history.
Includes these collections:
American History, 1493-1945
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America (formerly, American Indian Histories and Cultures)
Collection of primary documents and other materials relating to U.S. presidents. Includes public papers, addresses, executive orders, and proclamations.
Collections of books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents and ephemera printed in America over three centuries.
Includes:
America's Historical Imprints
America's Historical Newspapers
American State Papers, 1789-1838
House and Senate Journals, Series I, 1789-1817
Senate Executive Journals, 1789 - 1980
U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980
U.S. Congressional Serial Set Maps, 1817-1980
565,000 pages of rare manuscripts from the Medieval and Early Modern periods including letters, poems, stories, plays, chronicles, religious writings and commonplace books. These works of 1,000 authors were selected from the collections of the British Library, National Library of Scotland, Victoria and Albert Museum, and the Folger Shakespeare Library. Coverage: 1120-1660.
Imprints from the Library Company of Philadelphia. Covers the diverse history of Caribbean islands over nearly 400 years
Includes books, pamphlets, almanacs, broadsides and ephemera.
The Special Collections of Hamilton College include a substantial gathering of primary and secondary source materials relating to American Communal Societies: groups of people who have intentionally separated themselves from society in general and live according to a shared set of principles, whether religious or secular, in common ownership of property. This collection consists of manuscripts, printed works, visual materials, audio/video materials, ephemera, and a limited number of artifacts from the eighteenth through the late twentieth centuries.
Declassified documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. Documents include presidential directives, memos, diplomatic dispatches, meeting notes, independent reports, briefing papers, White House communications, email, confidential letters, and other secret material. Coverage: 1942 to present.
The Lesser Antilles Collection is the pièce de résistance of the Hamilton College Library collections. It is the preeminent collection of materials on the Lesser Antilles, largely from the 16th-19th centuries. The collection includes over 1700 manuscripts, including plantation reports, correspondence, oil paintings and watercolors.
The Library's collection is complemented by the Wellin Museum's holdings of prints, drawings, watercolors, and oil paintings dating from the 18th and 19th centuries. See Wellin's Beinecke Collection of the Lesser Antilles.
This collection was originally developed by Walter Beinecke, Jr., and donated to the Hamilton College Library. The Library has added to the collection in recent years when possible.
Includes primary source documents from various repositories including Lesbian Herstory Educational Foundation, Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives, Women's Energy Bank, GLBT Historical Society, and the National Library of Medicine. Library owns Parts I & II.
The Library of Congress makes more than 2 million items from its collection available online, including images, manuscripts, books, notated music, audio and video recordings, and more.
The Internet Archive is a non-profit organization dedicated to providing permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format that includes texts, audio, moving images, software, and archived web pages.
Descriptions of the archival collections of thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies and archives worldwide. Search results include the title of the collection, holding institution, brief description and a link to an extended description.
