Guides: How Do I Find ~ Primary Sources: Magazines

Collections

American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window
Digitized images of 7500 American magazines held by the American Antiquarian Society (AAS), the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction. Coverage: 1691-1877.
American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Full-image reproductions of more than 1,100 American magazines and journals. Includes popular, general interest, literary and women's magazines. Coverage 1741-1940.
British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Full image reproductions of nearly 500 British magazines and journals. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, music, art, drama, archaeology, architecture, and the social sciences. Coverage: 1681-1920.
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
Collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals -- produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century. Coverage: 1950s-present.

Internet Library of Early Journals
Searchable collection of six British journals published during the 18th and 19th centuries.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences dating back as far as 1665. Hamilton provides access to 17 JSTOR collections with more than 2,300 titles. Journal runs are complete from volume one up to the most recently published issues (past 5 years), which must be accessed elsewhere.
Library owns:
Arts & Sciences collections I-XV
Business
Life Sciences collection
Security Studies collection
Sustainability collection

Making of America (Cornell University)
Collection of 267 books and 22 journals published primarily in the United States between 1840 and 1900. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.
Making of America (University of Michigan)
Collection of approximately 10,000 books and 13 journals published primarily in the United States between 1850 and 1877. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.

Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Full backfiles of leading women’s interest consumer magazines. Titles are scanned from cover to cover in high-resolution color and feature detailed article-level indexing. Coverage: 1846-2005.
Better Homes & Gardens, 1922-2005
Chatelaine, 1928-2005
Cosmopolitan, 1886-2005
Essence, 1970-2005
Good Housekeeping, 1885-2005
Ladies’ Home Journal, 1883-2005
Parents, 1926-2005
Redbook, 1903-2005
Seventeen, 1944-2005
Town and Country, 1846-2005
Woman’s Day, 1937-2005
Women’s International Network News, 1975-2003

Individual Titles

Atlantic Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Covers events and political issues through literary and cultural commentary. Includes more than 1,800 issues providing a broad view of 19th, 20th and early 21st-Century American thought. Coverage: 1857-2014
HarpWeek This link opens in a new window
Full-image reproductions of Harper's Weekly, a publication that played a significant role in shaping and reflecting public opinion from the start of the Civil War through the end of the 19th century. Includes index. Coverage: 1857-1912.
Life Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
The famed photojournalism magazine featured story-telling through documentary photographs and informative captions. Coverage: 1936-2000.
National Geographic Virtual Library This link opens in a new window
The complete archive of National Geographic magazine — every page of every issue — along with a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images and videos. Coverage: 1888 to present.
Over 600 images can be downloaded for educational use.
Sports Illustrated Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
For researchers of 20th-century current events, politics and culture, as well as those interested in the history of business, advertising, and popular culture. Coverage: 1954-2000
Time Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
The prominent weekly news magazine and an important resource for studying just about any aspect of 20th-century history and life. Coverage: 1923-2000.
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
The full contents of Vogue magazine (U.S. edition) in full color page image. Coverage: 1892-present.

Indexes and Bibliographies

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.
Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
Index of over 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Coverage: 1969-present.
Humanities and Social Science Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Index of articles and book reviews from important scholarly journals. Coverage 1907-1984.
Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Index of articles from 240 leading general interest magazines published in the U.S. and Canada. Coverage: 1890-1982.

Library Catalog Searches

Use the table below to develop library catalog searches for primary sources. Replace the words appearing in brackets with specific descriptors (e.g., use american in place of [nationality]).

Searching for . . .	Enter this phrase	+	modifier(s) [see examples]
bibliographies	periodicals and bibliography	and	[ethnic group] [gender] [nationality] [topic]
indexes	periodicals and indexes		[ethnic group] [gender] [nationality] [topic]
related titles	periodicals		[ethnic group] [location] [topic]

Sample Searches

bibliography AND periodicals AND african american?
periodicals AND pennsylvania