Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HOMEGUIDESDATABASESHELP

Help With ~ Citing Sources

Contact R&ID

Telephone icon
Call us:
315-859-4735
Email icon
Appointments icon
Make an appointment:
request form

Why Cite? ~ How to Cite

This tutorial, based on information provided by the Hamilton College Writing Center, explains the philosophy of attribution, the anatomy of a citation, how to paraphrase and cite borrowed ideas and common knowledge, and how to cite using popular styles (APA, MLA and Chicago).
Approximate Time: 7 - 10 minutes 
Leads: Glynis Asu (Hamilton College), and Beth Hoppe (Union College).

Citing Beyond the Book

This tutorial will teach you how to cite social media, data, and special collections materials in MLA or APA formats.
Approximate time: 7 - 10 minutes
Leads: Glynis Asu (Hamilton College), Lindsay Bush (Union College), Paul Doty (St. Lawrence University), Debbie Krahmer (Colgate University), and Johanna MacKay & Barbara Norelli (Skidmore College).

Build an Annotated Bibliography

This tutorial describes the different parts of an annotated bibliography, explains how to write an effective annotation, and allows users the opportunity to create their own annotations for sources.
Approximate Time: 6 - 8 minutes 
Leads: Glynis Asu (Hamilton College), Jesi Buell (Colgate University), Yvette Cortes, Johanna MacKay & Barbara Norellii (Skidmore College), and Paul Doty (St. Lawrence University).

Starting Points

Major Style Guides

RefWorks

RefWorks is a research and citation management service you can use to create bibliographies, format footnotes, and organize information that you import from the library's databases and other online sources. Footnotes and bibliographies created with RefWorks are only as good as the information you import. You will still need to edit some references. For help with that, refer to the library's guide to citing sources.

Legacy - access ends June 30, 2023 

 

Which version should I use?

  • I'm new to RefWorks
    All new users must create their account in New RefWorks.

Zotero

 

Zotero is a free, open-source research tool that helps you collect, organize, and analyze research and share it in a variety of ways. Zotero includes the ability to store author, title, and publication fields and to export that information as formatted references as well as the ability to organize, tag, and search in advanced ways. Zotero can automatically extract and save complete bibliographic references from online sources. Zotero effortlessly transmits information to and from other web services and applications, and it runs both as a web service and offline on your personal devices.

For Zotero support at Hamilton please contact Alex Wohnsen, Research Librarian for Digital Initiatives & Experiential Learning.

Zotero is a project of the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media

Hamilton College, 198 College Hill Road, Clinton, NY 13323 • 315-859-4735 • Copyright © 2017 The Trustees of Hamilton College. All rights reserved.