Guides: Subject Guide ~ Economics: Companies and Industries

Industry Research

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Over 700 U.S. Industry Reports, 690 Specialized Industry Reports, 300+ U.S. Business Environment Profiles, and 80 Global Industry Reports. Each report, compiled by in-house economists and analysts, includes emerging trends, market share data, revenue, competitive landscape, operating conditions, and industry forecasts.
Statista This link opens in a new window
A statistics portal with data from over 22,500 sources -- private, public, and proprietary from North America, Europe, and Asia. Also included are U.S. industry reports, country reports, and colorful infographics.
All statistics can be downloaded as PowerPoint, Excel, and JPEG files, along with the original source with full citations in APA, Chicago, Harvard, and MLA formats.
Hoover's Online This link opens in a new window
Company information, including company profiles, corporate directory, market quotes, and business news.
Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Research global companies and industries with in-depth analysis through current news, statistical data, and comprehensive reports. Coverage: 1980-present.
Provided by the New York State Library, NOVELny is a Statewide Internet Library connecting New Yorkers to 21st century information. NOVELny is supported with temporary federal Library Services and Technology Act funds from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS).
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from nearly 3,600 scholarly publications with indexing and abstracts for nearly 4,400 journals. Includes detailed company profiles for the world's 5,000 largest companies and country economic reports from the EIU and CountryWatch. Coverage: 1965-present.

BERA: Business & Economics Research Advisor
A series of industry and subject guides compiled and updated by specialists at the Library of Congress.

Company Information

Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Research global companies and industries with in-depth analysis through current news, statistical data, and comprehensive reports. Coverage: 1980-present.
Provided by the New York State Library, NOVELny is a Statewide Internet Library connecting New Yorkers to 21st century information. NOVELny is supported with temporary federal Library Services and Technology Act funds from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS).
Hoover's Online This link opens in a new window
Company information, including company profiles, corporate directory, market quotes, and business news.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Over 700 U.S. Industry Reports, 690 Specialized Industry Reports, 300+ U.S. Business Environment Profiles, and 80 Global Industry Reports. Each report, compiled by in-house economists and analysts, includes emerging trends, market share data, revenue, competitive landscape, operating conditions, and industry forecasts.
Mergent Market Atlas This link opens in a new window
Corporate information covering over 50,000 US and foreign public companies, current and historical (past 15 years) firm descriptions, statistics, financial information and ratios, annual reports, mergers, acquisitions, disposals, joint ventures, long-term debt, capital stock, and insider trading.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
NOTE: The Mergent Online platform will be discontinued in May 2025, and replaced by Mergent Market Atlas (available now).
U.S. and international company database with financial details of over 13,000 U.S. public companies listed on the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ exchanges, and over 24,000 non-U.S. companies.

SEC EDGAR
Free public access to corporate information -- registration statements, prospectuses and periodic reports filed on Forms 10-K and 10-Q. Includes information about recent corporate events reported on Form 8-K but that a company does not have to disclose to investors.
more...less...
Researching Public Companies Through EDGAR: A Guide for Investors

The Directory of Venture Capital and Private Equity Firms 2016 by Laura Mars (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: COMPACT STACKS Ref HG4751 .F582 2016

Company Histories

International Directory of Company Histories
Publication Date: 2006-2012
Library also owns print volumes 1-78 (1999-2005) -- Location: COMPACT STACKS - HD2721 .D36 1988