Guides: Subject Guide ~ Geosciences: Background Information

Overview of your Topic

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Literature reviews providing overviews of the principal contributions to scholarship for 41 focused disciplines within the biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences.

A Dictionary of Geology & Earth Sciences by Michael Allaby
Publication Date: 2020-03-09
5th edition, 2020
Note: Limited to 1 simultaneous user.

Glossary of Geology
Robert Bates; Julia A. Jackson
3rd edition, American Geological Institute
Call Number: REFERENCE QE5 .B38 1987

Environmental Geology: Handbook of Field Methods and Case Studies
Springer, 2007
Field Methods for Geologists and Hydrogeologists
Call Number: BURKE QE45 .F527 2004
Springer
CRC handbook of coastal processes and erosion
Call Number: BURKE GB451.2 .C73 1983
Handbook of Weather, Climate and Water
Call Number: BURKE QC880 .H34 2003
Wiley

Water Resources of the United States
The U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) collects information needed to understand the Nation's water resources, and provides access to water data, publications, maps, and recent water projects. Water data by state is also included.
National Centers for Environmental Information - National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.
NOAA's National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI) hosts and provides public access to one of the most significant archives for environmental data on Earth.
World Ocean Database and World Ocean Atlas Series - National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Worldwide data sets and products from NOAA's National Oceanographic Data Center (NODC). The WODselect interface allows searching by user-specified criteria.