Guides: Subject Guide ~ Government: U.S. Politics and Public Policy: Background Information

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Drug Policy by Mark A. R. Kleiman (Editor); James E. Hawdon (Editor)
Publication Date: 2011
Encyclopedia of Governance by Mark Bevir (Editor)
Publication Date: 2006
Concentrates primarily on topics related to the changing nature and role of the state in recent times and the ways in which these roles have been conceptualized in the areas of Political Science, Public Administration, Political Economy, and Sociology.
Encyclopedia of Gun Control and Gun Rights by Glenn Utter (Editor)
Publication Date: 2011
Encyclopedia of Modern Political Thought by Gregory Claeys
Publication Date: 2013
Provides historical context to the philosophical issues and debates that have shaped attitudes toward democracy, citizenship, rights, property, duties, justice, equality, community, law, power, gender, race, and legitimacy over the last three centuries. It profiles major and minor political thinkers, and the national traditions, both Western and non-Western, which continue to shape and divide political thought.
Encyclopedia of Political Communication by Lynda Lee died April 13, 2011 Kaid (Editor); Christina Holtz-Bacha (Editor)
Publication Date: 2007
This resource pays considerable attention to important political messages such as political speeches, televised political advertising, political posters and print advertising, televised political debates, and Internet sites.
Encyclopedia of Political Science by George Thomas Kurian (Editor)
Publication Date: 2010
Signed articles examine the central ideas, concepts, and frameworks underlying the study of politics, both Western and non-Western, national and international.
Encyclopedia of Political Theory by Mark Bevir (Editor)
Publication Date: 2010
Encyclopedia of Right-Wing Extremism in Modern American History by Stephen E. Atkins
Publication Date: 2011
Encyclopedia of Social Media and Politics by Kerric Harvey (Editor)
Publication Date: 2014
Encyclopedia of the U.S. Government and the Environment by Matthew J. Lindstrom
Publication Date: 2011
Encyclopedia of U.S. Political History by Andrew Robertson
Publication Date: 2010
Scholars in the fields of history and political science examine the political evolution of the United States from the 1500s to the present day.
Encyclopedia of United States Indian Policy and Law by Paul Finkelman
Publication Date: 2008
Political and Civic Leadership: A Reference Handbook by Richard A. Couto (Editor)
Publication Date: 2010
Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History by Michael Kazin (Editor)
Publication Date: 2009
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Political Behavior by Fathali M. Moghaddam (Editor)
Publication Date: 2017
Explores the intersection of psychology, political science, sociology, and human behavior.

Handbooks

Gender and Women's Leadership: A Reference Handbook by Karen O'Connor (Editor)
Publication Date: 2010
Handbook of Public Policy by B. Guy Peters (Editor); Jon Pierre (Editor)
Publication Date: 2006
A comprehensive review and guide to the study, theory and practice of public policy today. Illustrates the changing role of governments vis-à-vis the public and private sector and the different policy actors (national and international, governmental and non-governmental) involved in the policy making process.
The SAGE Handbook of Electoral Behaviour by Kai Arzheimer (Editor); Jocelyn Evans (Editor); Michael S. Lewis-Beck (Editor)
Publication Date: 2017
Takes an interdisciplinary approach focusing on a range of countries.
SAGE Handbook of Political Advertising by Lynda Lee Kaid
Publication Date: 2006
The SAGE Handbook of Political Science by Dirk Berg-Schlosser (Editor); Bertrand Badie (Editor); Leonardo A. Morlino (Editor)
Publication Date: 2020
A general introduction to the field and important subfields within the discipline.
The SAGE Handbook of Research Methods in Political Science and International Relations by Luigi Curini (Editor); Robert Franzese (Editor)
Publication Date: 2020
A comprehensive overview of research processes in social science - from the ideation and design of research projects, through the construction of theoretical arguments, to conceptualization, measurement, and data collection, and quantitative and qualitative empirical analysis.

Dictionaries

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
Documents the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words. Trace the historical evolution of a word using quotations found in sources ranging from classic literature to cookbooks.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Note: Limited to 1 simultaneous user.Collection of more than 200 cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Coverage: Latest editions.

Bibliographies

Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Each article is an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, written and reviewed by academic experts, with original commentary and annotations.
Subjects available to Hamilton:
African American Studies
African Studies
Art History
Cinema and Media Studies
Classics
Criminology
Environmental Studies
Hinduism
International Relations
Latin American Studies
Latino Studies
Medieval Studies
Music
Philosophy
Political Science
Sociology

Literature Reviews

Annual Review of Political Science
Articles reviewing the scholarly literature on topics of interest in political science. Coverage: 1998-present

Biography

Politics in America
Profiles and data on members of Congress.

Reports

CRS Reports (Congressional Research Service)
CRS reports provide Congress with both anticipatory and on-demand research and analysis to support their legislative, oversight, and representational duties. CRS reports are authoritative, objective and nonpartisan.
more...less...
To find CRS reports that have not yet migrated to the official site check here:
EveryCRSReport.com
FAS

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Note: Limited to 5 simultaneous users. Summary reports on contemporary issues that include an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources. Coverage: 1991-present.

Directories

Washington Information Directory
The essential resource for locating information on governmental and nongovernmental organizations in the national capital region.

Subject Guide ~ Government: U.S. Politics and Public Policy

Encyclopedias

Handbooks

Dictionaries

Bibliographies

Literature Reviews

Biography

Reports

Directories

Search Hamilton's Reference Collection