Guides: Subject Guide ~ Women's and Gender Studies: Articles

Databases

GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text of articles that focus on gender roles from historical and current perspectives. Areas of focus include gay and lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (LGBTQ) studies; family studies; gender studies, and women's studies. Coverage: 1970-present.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Index of journal articles, books, proceedings, reports, and other sources related to women's studies and feminist research. Coverage: 1972-present.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.
Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
Index of over 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Coverage: 1969-present.
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index This link opens in a new window
Index of journal articles, reviews and essays about women, sexuality and gender during the Middle Ages. Coverage: 1994-present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences dating back as far as 1665. Hamilton provides access to 17 JSTOR collections with more than 2,300 titles. Journal runs are complete from volume one up to the most recently published issues (past 5 years), which must be accessed elsewhere.
Library owns:
Arts & Sciences collections I-XV
Business
Life Sciences collection
Security Studies collection
Sustainability collection
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
American Psychological Association’s index of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in behavioral science and mental health. Coverage: 1887-present (journals); 1987-present (books and book chapters).
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index of journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers covering the international literature in sociology and related disciplines,including anthropology, criminology, demography, education, law, penology, race relations, social psychology, and urban studies. Coverage: 1952-present.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Index of articles from over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. In addition to multidisciplinary searches, Web of Science provides tools to track citations to individual articles from their date of publication to the present. Now includes Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Coverage: 1900-present.
Getting Started with Web of Science
Videos

Journals

This is a list of some of the important journals that publish research by feminist and gender studies scholars and critics. The link will take you to the library's catalog record, with options for accessing the full text either at the publisher's web site, or in third party databases such as JSTOR, Project Muse, etc.

Alternatively, try searching across many of the journals simultaneously by searching one of the library's article databases, such as GenderWatch and Women's Studies International (see the Databases box above).

Camera Obscura: Feminism, Culture and Media Studies

Differences: A Journal of Feminist Cultural Studies

European Journal of Women's Studies

Feminism and Psychology

Feminist Criminology

Feminist Economics

Feminist Formations (formerly NWSA Journal)

Frontiers: A Journal of Women Studies