Skip to Main Content

HOME GUIDES DATABASES HELP

Subject Guide ~ Women's and Gender Studies

Encyclopedias

Battleground: Women, Gender, and Sexuality by Amy Lind; Stephanie Brzuzy
Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of Contemporary LGBTQ Literature of the United States by Emmanuel S. Nelson (Editor)
Publication Date: 2009
Encyclopedia of Feminist Theories by Lorraine Code
Publication Date: 2000
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society by Jodi A. O'Brien (Editor)
Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of Gender in Media by Mary Kosut
Publication Date: 2012
Encyclopedia of Identity by Ronald L. Jackson (Editor)
Publication Date: 2010
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America
Call Number: COMPACT STACKS Ref HQ76.3.U5 E53 2004
Encyclopedia of Lesbian and Gay Histories and Cultures by Bonnie Zimmerman (Editor); George E. Haggerty (Editor)
Publication Date: 2000
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender by Fedwa Malti-Douglas (Editor)
Publication Date: 2007
Encyclopedia of Women and Gender by Judith Worell (Editor)
Call Number: COMPACT STACKS Ref HQ1115 .E43 2001
Girl Culture: An Encyclopedia by Claudia Mitchell
Publication Date: 2008
Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) History by Howard Chiang
Publication Date: 2019
An authoritative and academically rigorous encyclopedia focused on LGBTQ history.
Historical Dictionary of the Lesbian and Gay Liberation Movements by JoAnne Myers
Publication Date: 2013
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Queer Culture by David A. Gerstner (Editor)
Call Number: COMPACT STACKS Ref HQ76.96 .R68 2006
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women by Cheris Kramarae; Dale Spender
Publication Date: 2000
The Sage Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies by Abbie E. Goldberg (Editor)
Publication Date: 2016
The work focuses on LGBTQ issues and identity primarily through the lenses of psychology, human development and sociology, emphasizing queer, feminist and ecological perspectives.
Women's Movement Today: An Encyclopedia of Third-Wave Feminism by Leslie L. Heywood
Call Number: COMPACT STACKS Ref HQ1115 .W644 2006
Women's Studies Encyclopedia by Helen Tierney (Editor)
Call Number: COMPACT STACKS Ref HQ1115 .W645 1999

Handbooks

Feminist Methodologies for Critical Researchers by Joey Sprague
Call Number: HQ1180 .S75 2005
Feminist Praxis (RLE Feminist Theory) by Liz Stanley (Editor)
Publication Date: 2012
Feminist Research in Theory and Practice by Gayle Letherby
Publication Date: 2003
Feminist Research Practice: A Primer by Sharlene Hesse Biber (Editor)
Call Number: HQ1180 .H47 2014
2nd ed.
Gender by Renee C. Hoogland (Editor); Nicole Fleetwood (Editor); Iris van der Tuin (Editor)
Publication Date: 2016-2018
Macmillan Interdisciplinary Handbook series. Volumes cover: Animals, God, Laughter, Love, Matter, Nature, Space, Time, War, and Sources Perspectives and Methodologies. Offers a conceptual approach that encourages a cross-, trans-, and interdisciplinary exploration of universal themes, addressed by feminist scholars and scientists.
Gender and Women's Leadership: A Reference Handbook by Karen O'Connor (Editor)
Publication Date: 2010
Handbook of Feminist Research by Sharlene Hesse Biber (Editor)
Call Number: HQ1180 .H35 2012
Out of the Closet, Into the Archives: Researching Sexual Histories by Amy L. Stone; Jaime Cantrell (Editor)
Publication Date: 2015
The Palgrave Handbook of African Women's Studies by Olajumoke Yacob-Haliso (Editor); Toyin Falola (Editor)
Publication Date: 2021
Queer Methods and Methodologies by Kath Browne (Editor); Catherine J. Nash (Editor)
Publication Date: 2010
Theories and Methodologies in Postgraduate Feminist Research by Rosemarie Buikema (Editor); Gabriele Griffin (Editor); Nina Lykke (Editor)
Publication Date: 2012

Bibliographies

Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Each article is an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, written and reviewed by academic experts, with original commentary and annotations.
Subjects available to Hamilton:
African American Studies
African Studies
Art History
Cinema and Media Studies
Classics
Criminology
Environmental Studies
Hinduism
International Relations
Latin American Studies
Latino Studies
Medieval Studies
Music
Philosophy
Political Science
Sociology

Literature Reviews

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Literature reviews providing overviews of the principal contributions to scholarship for 41 focused disciplines within the biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences.

Search Hamilton's Reference Collection

Last Updated: Jul 8, 2024 4:21 PM
URL: https://libguides.hamilton.edu/WomensGenderStudies
Print Page

Subjects: Women's and Gender Studies

Tags: feminism, feminist studies, gender studies, LGBTQ, women, womens studies

Hamilton College, 198 College Hill Road, Clinton, NY 13323 • 315-859-4735 • Copyright © 2024 The Trustees of Hamilton College. All rights reserved.