Guides: Subject Guide ~ Middle East and Islamicate Worlds Studies: Primary Sources

Sources in Translation

Online Medieval Sources Bibliography
Designed by the Center for Medieval Studies at Fordham University, this web site provides a searchable bibliography of texts written in the Middle Ages that are now available in printed or online editions and translations.

Readings in Medieval Civilizations and Cultures
From the University of Toronto, each volume contains a mixture of standard documents and representative texts.

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae This link opens in a new window
Registration required to use TLG
Full text of virtually all Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.), and A.D. 600 and the majority of surviving works up the fall of Byzantium in A.D. 1453.
Help: Greek fonts

Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969
This collection from the British National Archives covers a broad sweep of history from c. 1839 to 1969, taking in the countries of the Arabian peninsula, the Levant, Iraq, Turkey and many of the former Ottoman lands in Europe, Iran, Afghanistan, Egypt and Sudan.
Foreign Office Files for the Middle East, 1971-1981
The full collection, covering the period from 1971-1981, from the British National Archives contains complete runs of Foreign and Commonwealth Office files from the Arabian and Middle East Department (FCO 8), the Southern European Department (FCO 9), the Eastern Department (FCO 17), the North and East African Department (FCO 39), the Commodities and Oil Department (FCO 67) and the Near East and North Africa Department (FCO 93) that are relevant to the time period, and is augmented by selections from the Prime Minister’s Office files (PREM) and Defence Intelligence files (DEFE).