Guides: Course Guide ~ HIST 106: Race & Migration in US History: News Sources

Newspapers

Historical Black Newspapers
Complete contents and original layout of five important African American newspapers.
Includes:
Baltimore Afro-American, 1893-1988
Chicago Defender, 1910-1975
Los Angeles Sentinel, 1934-2005
New York Amsterdam News, 1922-1993
Pittsburgh Courier, 1911-2002
African American Newspapers
Complete contents and original layout of more than more than 270 newspapers from 35 states. Coverage: Series 1 & 2; 1827-1998.
America's Historical Newspapers
More than 1,800 newspapers from all 50 states. The colonial and early national newspapers collected by the American Antiquarian Society form the core of this collection. Coverage: 1690-1922.
Library owns Early American Newspapers, Series I-7, 10 and 13.

Chronicling America
Chronicling America is a Website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages published between 1836 and 1922.

Academic Search Premier
ndex of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

Limit search to "newspapers" in the publication type limiter for best results!

American Periodicals
Full-image reproductions of more than 1,100 American magazines and journals. Includes popular, general interest, literary and women's magazines. Coverage 1741-1940.
Independent Voices
Collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals -- produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century. Coverage: 1950s-present.