The Adirondack Experience's (formerly the Adirondack Museum) searchable catalog of nearly 30,000 records and images and objects from the permanent collections.
Note: Registration required to download images.
An image library for the arts and sciences. A rich collection of more than one million high-resolution images and tools for teaching and research. Subjects include architecture, painting, photography, sculpture, decorative arts and design, as well as archeological and anthropological objects. Coverage: prehistory to present.
The Online Database is a searchable catalog of photographs, including almost 3000 images by Adirondack photographer S. R. Stoddard, manuscripts and other historic artifacts from the museum's collection.
Index to the population, agriculture, and industry schedules for New York State from 1790-1940. Includes links to full image reproductions of schedules for most years. Requires free account.
The Library of Congress makes more than 2 million items from its collection available online, including images, manuscripts, books, notated music, audio and video recordings, and more.
Over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
Creative Commons is a nonprofit organization that enables the sharing and use of creativity and knowledge through free legal tools. The search page provides a portal to image and media sites with content that is licensed for public use.
