Skip to Main Content
Scholarly Articles and Reports
Adirondack Ecological Center - Selected Publications
Extensive bibliography of articles, theses, and dissertations produced by scholars and students associated with the AEC.
AJES: Adirondack Journal of Environmental Studies
Journal of the Adirondack Research Consortium, aims to bridge the gaps among academic disciplines and among researchers and practitioners devoted to understanding and promoting the development of sustainable communities in the Adirondacks, both human and wild.
Adirondack Lakes Survey Corporation
The Adirondack Lakes Survey Corporation was created to monitor changes to natural ecosystems of the Adirondack Mountain ecological zone with a focus on water quality, atmospheric deposition, fish surveys, and other biological and chemical studies for the benefit of regulatory agencies and the general public. Surveys and data are available from 1984 to the present.
Bibliography of Adirondack Architecture
Historical bibliography of the built environment in the Adirondack region of New York State. Compiled by Richard Longstreth in 1996. Revised September 12, 2010.
NYS Adirondack Park Agency - Research, Science and Planning Policy
Includes links to EPA wetland and watershed reports, land use statistics, and other agency management plans and reports.
NYS Department of Environmental Conservation - Unit Management Plans
The New York State DEC's Unit Management Plans (UMPs) assess the natural and physical resources present within a land unit, identify opportunities for public use which are consistent with the classifications of these lands, and consider the ability of the resources and ecosystems to accommodate such use.
Some Hamilton Library Databases
Listed below are some multidisciplinary and discipline-specific databases that index books and articles on Adirondack-related topics.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
More than 180 high quality, subscribed and open-access titles focused in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. Coverage: 2000-present.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Coverage: 1960-present.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Index of journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses covering the geology of North America from 1785 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. Includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Coverage: 1785-present.
GreenFile This link opens in a new window
Index of scholarly journals, government publications and general interest magazines on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and other aspects of human impact to the environment. Coverage: 1974-present.
Hamilton College, 198 College Hill Road, Clinton, NY 13323 • 315-859-4735 • Copyright © 2017 The Trustees of Hamilton College. All rights reserved.