Guides: Subject Guide ~ Art and Art History: Background Information

Art Historiography

Methods and Theories of Art History by Michael Cothren; Anne D'Alleva
Call Number: Burke Reserve ; N380 .C68 2021
Publication Date: 2021
The Art of Art History by Donald Preziosi (Editor)
Publication Date: 2009
Art History: A Critical Introduction to Its Methods by Michael Hatt; Charlotte Klonk
Call Number: Burke Reserve ; N7480 .H38 2006
Art History and Its Methods: A Critical Anthology by Eric Fernie
Call Number: Burke Reserve ; N85 .A655 1995
Art History's History by Vernon Hyde Minor
Call Number: Burke Reserve ; N380 .M556 1994

Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window
Scholarly encyclopedia covering all aspects of Western and non-Western visual art with more than 45,000 articles, 21,000 biographies, 500,000 citations, and 40,000 image links.

Smarthistory: The Center for Public Art History
A resource for the study of art and cultural heritage. Contributors include art historians, curators, archaeologists, and artists.
Luminous Lint
NOTE: For Username and Password - contact a research librarian or check the Blackboard course space in certain ARTH or HIST courses.
An online scholarly resource that has been constructed collaboratively to share information on the history of photography worldwide.

The Concise Focal Encyclopedia of Photography by Michael R. Peres (Editor)
Publication Date: 2016
Encyclopedia of Nineteenth-Century Photography by John Hannavy (Editor)
Call Number: TR9 .H25 2008
Encyclopedia of Sculpture by Antonia Boström (Editor)
Call Number: COMPACT STACKS Ref NB198 .E53 2004
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Photography by Lynne Warren (Editor)
Call Number: TR642 .E5 2006
The Focal Encyclopedia of Photography by Michael R. Peres (Editor)
Publication Date: 2015
Grove Encyclopedia of American Art by Joan Marter (Editor)
Publication Date: 2011
Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture by Gordon Campbell
Publication Date: 2007
Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts by Gordon Campbell
Publication Date: 2006
Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture by Jonathan M. Bloom (Editor); Sheila S. Blair (Editor)
Publication Date: 2009
The Grove Encyclopedia of Northern Renaissance Art by Gordon Campbell (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: COMPACT STACKS Ref N6370 .G76 2009
3 vols.
Styles, Schools and Movements by Amy Dempsey
Call Number: COMPACT STACKS Ref N6490.4 .D45 2010

Art Historians

Dictionary of Art Historians
Supported by Duke University's Digital Art History & Visual Culture Research Lab.

Artists

Encyclopedia of African American Artists by Dele Jegede
Publication Date: 2009
Modern Chinese Artists by Michael Sullivan
Call Number: COMPACT STACKS Ref N7348 .S85 2006
The Younger Than Jesus Artist Directory: The Essential Handbook to a New Generation of Artists by Massimiliano Gioni; Laura Hoptman; Lauren Cornell
Call Number: COMPACT STACKS Ref N6495.8 .Y68 2009

Architects

Architects From A to Z by Paul Cattermole
Call Number: COMPACT STACKS Ref NA40 .C38 2013
The Great Builders by Kenneth Powell (Editor)
Call Number: COMPACT STACKS Ref NA40 .G74 2011
The First American Women Architects by Sarah Allaback
Call Number: COMPACT STACKS Ref NA736 .A48 2008

Photographers

Artspeak: A Guide to Contemporary Ideas, Movements, and Buzzwords, 1945 to the Present by Robert Atkins
Call Number: COMPACT STACKS Ref N6490 .A87 1997
Critical Terms for Art History by Robert S. Nelson (Editor); Richard Shiff (Editor)
Call Number: COMPACT STACKS Ref N34 .C75 1996
A Dictionary of Modern and Contemporary Art by John Glaves-Smith and Ian Chilvers
Publication Date: 2015
The Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Art Terms by Smith Edward Lucie
Call Number: COMPACT STACKS Ref N33 .L75 2004
The Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Photography by Nathalie Herschdorfer
Call Number: TR139 .T43 2015

A Short Guide to Writing about Art by Sylvan Barnet
Call Number: COMPACT STACKS Ref N7476 .B37 2015
Art Law: A Concise Guide for Artists, Curators, and Art Educators by Michael E. Jones
Call Number: COMPACT STACKS Ref KF4288 .J66 2016
Art Market Research by Tom McNulty
Publication Date: 2013

Art Atlas by John Onians (Editor)
Call Number: BURKE STORAGE ATLASES G1046 .E1 O9 2008

Smarthistory: The Center for Public Art History
A resource for the study of art and cultural heritage. Contributors include art historians, curators, archaeologists, and artists.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
The Met’s Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History pairs essays and works of art with chronologies, telling the story of art and global culture through the Museum’s collection.
Google Arts & Culture
Explore artworks and collections from around the world.

Art History Teaching Resources (AHTR)
Teaching resources contributed by peers. Includes lesson plans, syllabi, assignments, rubrics, etc.
Art Museum Teaching
A community of museum educators sharing best practices in programming and innovative approaches in museums.